Skip to content

best and worst

9 June, 2009

Lawful Lady tagged me to find out what my best and worst law school memories are thus far. While it took me ages to finally get around to thinking about it, I have to say that remembering my first year was fun. I had some ups and downs, but I’m proud to say I didn’t just survive, I thrived. I’m doing well in terms of grades. I’m very involved in organizations and am getting used to being a leader in a few of them. I’m happy and doing well at my summer job, and I’m looking very much forward to being a teaching assistant in the fall. Law school definitely was the right choice for me, and I hope my fellow wayfarers are so lucky as to feel the same way.

Best Memory:

The feeling on the last day of my first year as I sipped beer and ate a hamburger at the cookout on the law school lawn after my con law final. I was sitting at a table with some of my favorite people in the world, and the sun was shining. We were talking about jobs we had in the past, and which were our favorite and why, video games, movies, school, summer plans. And laughing, wholeheartedly and loudly. It was one of those moments that feels like a movie.

Worst Memory:

Probably the endless hours of frustration I felt while working on my appellate brief. I just felt…stuck. I rarely have felt that way about a writing assignment in my entire career as a student. It was like pulling teeth to get me started, and even when I made some progress I’d just get stuck again. Suffice it to say I would be happy to never have to write another one of those again, though now it occurs to me that I have committed to grading the citations for them this coming year…

If you want to play along, you’re more than welcome to! Let me know and I’ll come check out your answers.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

