Skip to content

note to self

26 June, 2009

I learned a valuable lesson today when I accompanied my boss to a hearing on temporaries in a dissolution case.

We walked into the hearing very well prepared, including a drafted order for the judge to make necessary changes to and sign. We had affidavits and exhibits and photos, and could answer the judge’s questions when he asked them. The other attorney didn’t even know where her client was living without asking him. I was shocked to see the difference in the levels of preparation, and I know the judge noticed it.

While this is definitely in part due to her client not giving her good information, it makes me very aware of the fact that I need to always be prepared. Even in a hearing on temporaries, it will be very apparent to the other attorney and the judge if I am not ready.

So note to self…make like a boy scout and always be prepared.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 28 June, 2009 7:38 pm

    I second being prepared. I watched one of the ADA’s get owned in a preliminary hearing the other day when she wasn’t prepared. I actually felt bad for her, she just stood there because she didn’t fully know the law at issue…

  2. 3 July, 2009 2:55 am

    Communication is a 2-way street though… you can blame some of it on the client but the lawyer also has to ask the right questions, like “hey where do you live?”

  3. 6 July, 2009 8:53 pm

    You’re quite right, Jansen. It was obvious that there was a major breakdown in communication here.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

