Skip to content

so very Hermione of me

4 October, 2007

I couldn’t take it anymore today. I was trying to sort through my ever-growing folder of law school information when I decided that it was time to take the next step. I desperately needed to do it. Please don’t mock me. [Libby]

I bought a 13-pocket folder for my law school stuff. And then proceeded to nearly fill it.

  • No label: to-do lists, blank paper, pen
  • Information: stuff I’ve compiled on various schools (i.e. spreadsheets)
  • Drake: application for Drake University, scholarship information, note that if I apply online, the application fee will be waived through March of next year
  • NIU: application for Northern Illinois University
  • SLU: application for St. Louis University, letter waiving application fee
  • UNL: application for University of Nebraska
  • Washburn: application for Washburn University, information on center for children and family law center
  • Other schools: application for University of Iowa [still a MAYBE]
  • Misc: empty
  • Personal Statement: first draft of personal statement, various tips and suggestions from websites, list of each school’s requirements, list of why I want to attend each school
  • Letter of Recommendation: list of professors who will write letters, printout of instructions from LSAC on how to get information distributed
  • Resume: copies of my resume, job history, activities history, resources from career center on resume writing
  • LSAC: copy of LSAT and LSDAS information book

Let it not be said that I’m not organized, at least when it comes to school. *sheepish grin*

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Justine permalink
    4 October, 2007 5:53 pm

    I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE multi-pocket folders and anything having to do with filing! Uh-oh, it’s in the genes. ha

    Libby should have a field day with this one!

    Good for you, chica!

  2. Josh permalink
    4 October, 2007 7:34 pm

    I’m trying so very hard not to mock… Less is more, you know. =]

    Feel the chi flowing through your pencil.. It is all you need. 😉

  3. Llama Momma permalink
    5 October, 2007 7:47 am

    My opinion….this was beat into my head for way to many years. Although the folder is a great thing…a 3 ring binder (non trapper keeper style) might have been a better choice for durability. You could have used plastic page covers to store everything and even had room for a pencil pouch and a calender and pictures from the Titanic…..OMG….its freshman year all over again.

  4. 5 October, 2007 8:38 am

    Aunt tine: I’ll have to watch out if it’s genetic. *grin*

    Josh: Yeah, yeah. 🙂

    Llama Momma: Well, this isn’t just a folder. It’s one of those expanding file things, so hopefully it will work out. Oh, and yeah… Did I really go through that phase? I’d tried so hard to forget it… *giggle*

  5. libby permalink
    5 October, 2007 10:13 am

    Is this the purple monstrosity you had in class last night? I had one of those my freshman year in high school. They are quite lame, but I suppose sometimes they can be a necessary evil. You should have gone with a more lawyer-y manilla.

  6. 5 October, 2007 10:21 am

    Libby: Yes. It’s purple. So what. I’m going to be a lawyer with FLAIR. 😀

  7. daydreamer permalink
    5 October, 2007 1:47 pm

    Liss- I can’t decide why I love you more:

    A.) Because you are the epitome of Hermioneism.
    B.) You’re organization skills rock the house, yo!
    c.) That “I’m going to be a lawyer with FLAIR!” comment.

    Hell, it’s all of the above!

  8. Justine permalink
    5 October, 2007 2:06 pm

    I love it even MORE if it’s purple!!!!!

  9. 5 October, 2007 2:38 pm

    Amber: YAY! MULTIPLE reasons to love me. Hee hee… I can’t not have flair. It’s just me!

    Aunt Tine: I know, right? It would be even better if it was pink and brown, but purple is quite lovely.

  10. 5 October, 2007 5:19 pm

    Have you check into getting a fee waiver for the LSAT?

  11. 9 October, 2007 2:26 pm

    “Go confidently in the direction of your dreams. Live the life you have imagined.” –Henry David Thoreau

    Hermione and Henry David Thoreau — I love the combination!

Leave a Reply

