Skip to content

all she wants to do is dance write

11 October, 2007

All I want to do is write. When has that ever been a problem for me? Not when I was in first grade and chose to forgo recess to write and illustrate my first story. Not when I was first turned on to writing poetry in junior high school by Mrs. Madison. Not when I was in high school and could whip out a five page paper in two hours. Not when I was in college and wrote a good, coherent short story for the first time in my life. Not even now, when I can usually come up with at least a few topics for my blog every week.

But now it suddenly is a problem for me? Now, when I’m nearing the peak of my education. When I’ve taken the composition classes and creative writing courses that should boost my confidence because of the feedback I’ve gotten from peers and professors. Now I’m suddenly turned into this sniveling, unsure person who is full of self doubt when it comes to her personal statement for law school admissions.

I’ve spent time on the Law School Discussion boards, and have even gotten some people to agree to read the draft that I have now. However, I’m worried. I feel as though I need to start over again, because while I feel that the essay that I have accurately reflects who I am and why I want to go into the legal profession, I fear that the admissions committees will feel more like…well…so what? They’ve seen plenty of essays that start out with a childhood story and follow chronologically until now. They’ve seen plenty of people who want to help children. What makes me unique?

Truth is, in relation to what makes me different from other law school candidates, I’m just not sure. And that, my friends, is a terrifying feeling.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Amber/Daydreamer permalink
    11 October, 2007 1:19 pm

    Oh Liss. I know this feeling. It sucks. I wish that all your friends could write a review of you for your essay so that they could see why everyone you know loves you so much. Seriously. I wish there were a way for me to convey how lucky they would be to have you. I’m sure most of this is nerves and whatnot, but I know that you will suceed in the end. You will. It’s one of your greatest quailities. Tell the committee to put that in their pipe and smoke it.

  2. Justine permalink
    11 October, 2007 1:26 pm

    And then tell that committee to pass the pipe along! LOL

    Seriously, though…we all go through the feelings you’re experiencing. I go through them every single time I start a new project, which is at least three times a month! It’s something inside of us that tells us we are not good enough.

    Well I am here to tell you, dear, that you are good enough, you are smart enough, and gosh darn it, people like you! (And I love you!)

  3. 11 October, 2007 2:02 pm

    *fights back tears* Thanks, Amber and Aunt Tine.

    And thanks for the Stuart Smalley reference. It made me laugh.

  4. Justine permalink
    11 October, 2007 4:00 pm

    LOVE the new page!!!!! Very terra nullius of you!

  5. 11 October, 2007 4:22 pm

    Hee hee…thanks!

Leave a Reply

