Skip to content

method or madness?

12 October, 2007

I am currently reading Law School Confidential. I’m participating daily on the Law School Discussion boards, and I’m getting ready to read Planet Law School II. I know that my summer will be filled with searching Amazon and the Half Price Book Store for used copies of more law school-related books.

I guess I am seeking as many answers as I can find as to what exactly law school is going to be all about. I’ve discovered that it’s pretty much a 24/7 fest of mindnumbingly dense reading, writing like I’ve never written before, and being constantly terrified in class. Of course, that’s one book’s interpretation. Apparently I can expect to spend nearly every waking hour studying, or else I will fail. Period. I don’t know that I entirely believe it. I have no doubt that it is a lot of studying. I don’t think I have unrealistic expections, though.

Can’t I just get a straight answer? Isn’t there just one way to do things that really works? Of course not. The one thing that drives me crazy about all of these books is that everyone is different. Just because one thing worked really well for Johnny P. Lawstudent doesn’t mean it’s going to work for me at all. At the same time, the books are pretty informative because I truly am ignorant to what the law school experience will bring, not counting the “super-realistic” account in Legally Blonde.

“I feel comfortable using legal jargon in every day life.”

*man whistles*

“I object!”

Kills me every time. But I digress.

It’s like there’s lots of method, and even more madness. I don’t know what to truly expect. I mean, as it is I work forty hours per week at my full time job, go to school for ten and a half hours a week, study for up to twenty hours a week, and work at my internship up to eighteen hours a week. Kick in two hours a day of driving time a total of three days a week, and that’s almost 95 hours a week spent on work and school. That is over half of the week, since there are only 168 hours in the week, folks. I think that I’m ready for the oh-so-scary time commitment involved with law school. I am not afraid.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Llama Momma permalink
    12 October, 2007 2:57 pm

    So…one of our classmates just passed the bar. I was surprised because I didn’t think he was that bright. I think you are one of the smartest people I know so don’t fear llama….you will do wonderful!

  2. 12 October, 2007 3:24 pm

    I know exactly who you are talking about! LOL

  3. Amber/Daydreamer permalink
    12 October, 2007 5:48 pm

    That is totally my favorite part of the movie!!

    And I agree with LM, you are way smart so you’re gonna be fine!

  4. 13 October, 2007 10:10 pm

    Hee hee… I also like when what’s his name says “YOU got into Harvard Law?” and she’s like…”What, like it’s hard?”

    And thanks, Amber. Now if only you were THE admissions council for all the schools I want to go to. 😀

  5. 15 October, 2007 9:28 am

    Dude. Did you watch “Legally Blonde: The Musical” on MTV last night? I was horrified. HORRIFIED… I couldn’t stop watching it. It was a total trainwreck.

  6. 15 October, 2007 9:54 am

    Canary: HA! No. Please tell me that you’re making it up. A musical?!

  7. ithinkimdying permalink
    15 October, 2007 11:23 am

    Don’t believe all you read. In fact, don’t read anything! I couldn’t get my hands on enough reading material my summer before 1L, but it really doesn’t prepare you. Your personal experience will depend on your background, your interests, what you plan to study, the law school you go to, your study habits, etc.

    Most of those books are a waste or worse. However, Getting to Maybe is a good one (just talks about all the ambiguity that lawyers love and how you can use it to your advantage while taking tests). Hope I’m not bursting your bubble or anything… but I think the easiest/best thing to do is to talk to others who have studied what you plan to and/or go to the school you plan to.

  8. 15 October, 2007 11:52 am

    My suspicions have been confirmed. Thanks, ithinkimdying!

  9. crywithme permalink
    15 October, 2007 3:10 pm

    I floated through my undergrad…more than full time load, worked 40 hours a week, and still had time to party(decent grades, good LSAT). I started part-time law school this semester working a full time job, and it was too much for me….quit the job still spend most of my time reading.

    I didnt believe everyone either…I thought the only reason anyone was having trouble with law school was because they werent as smart as I was. The truth…is that they overload you with information, and then dont tell you what is important, so you end up trying to learn it all. The secret Ive heard….ignore what they tell you your first year….buy canned briefs and outlines…dont rely on them 100%, but buy them.

    They will tell you not too, and if they catch you they will make your life hell, but take the risk…do it.

  10. 15 October, 2007 4:32 pm

    Crywithme, to be honest, until I started reading these books I thought the same thing. I thought that maybe the people who had trouble with law school just shouldn’t be there because they aren’t cut out for it. Now, I know better. It’s not going to be a cakewalk like undergrad, no matter what I do.

    Thanks for the tips. Much appreciated, my friend.

  11. 16 October, 2007 9:04 am

    lisslo – Am not lying. Legally Blonde: The Musical is a real thing. I’m actually going to blog about it later today. Check out the link to the Broadway show: http://www.legallyblondethemusical.com/.

    SCARINESS! It’s not even good, I tell you. And yet? Couldn’t stop watching, horrified, my mouth agape and my eyes glazed over. It was horrible. HORRIBLE.

  12. 16 October, 2007 9:17 am

    What were they THINKING???!

Leave a Reply

