Skip to content

halfway there

15 October, 2007

After I work my shift tonight, I will have 73.5 hours in, which is just under halfway through my internship. I’m torn, really, on how I feel about it. The work is fulfilling, despite occasional oh-my-god-I-want-to-scream-get-me-out-of-here moments. I enjoy my time when I am there and am rarely bored.

On the other hand, by the time that Saturday night rolls around, I am exhausted. It gets to the point where I’m no good to even work on any homework or law school applications until I’ve gotten some sleep. Once I’m done with this internship it will be so nice to have a few spare moments to do ANYTHING.

Another problem that I am struggling with is that I started out at one location, and the original plan was to do half of my hours there. But I don’t want to leave! I am finally getting comfortable enough to deal with things. I consequenced a youth the other night with early bed for being disrespectful. I tell them not to say derogatory things and to get their feet off the furniture. I’ve spent some one-on-one time with several clients, and I feel like I’m abandoning them.

Oh, and by the way…I’m thinking about working there part time if I end up going to Drake. It’s perfect–I like the people I would be working with, it would be no more than 19 hours a week [3 pm-9 pm shifts], and it pays really well because they are unionized. It’s very tempting!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Justine permalink
    15 October, 2007 1:59 pm

    73.5 hours??!!! Where has the time gone? I remember your post about being nervous, and here you are, already an expert! 🙂

    Sounds like your current job has prepared you for working with immature, insecure teens. And sounds like a great opportunity to work there if you were going to Drake. Too bad you’ll be going to NIU. Too long of a commute. 😉

    *evil grin*

  2. 15 October, 2007 2:48 pm

    Aunt Tine: I know… the time really has flown by. I didn’t expect it to, that’s for sure!!

    HA! Yes, my current job definitely has prepared me for that.

    *shakes head* You’re sooo funny. Hee hee…

  3. 15 October, 2007 3:28 pm

    Maybe that “1” is really a 7? Or a 9? I don’t know: What’s a good LSAT score? Whatever it is, you will attain it. ‘Cause you’re so cool.

  4. 15 October, 2007 4:30 pm

    Ha! Thanks Hoss. I want a 160 or above. 😀

Leave a Reply

