Skip to content

open house

23 October, 2007

I’m going to an open house today at Drake Law School. I’m excited, and nervous. I don’t know where to park, or where registration is. I find it a bit odd that they don’t include that information in the email, but that’s okay. I’m guessing that I park in one of the visitor lots and that registration will be at the admissions office. But what if I’m wrong? I emailed the admissions office, so hopefully someone will get back to me soon. If not, I can always call.

The open house will consist of a tour of the school and a Q & A session with current students, admissions officers, and financial aid officers. I’m looking forward to the discussion because I have tons of questions to ask. Here’s my list:

  1. Do you have any advice for prospective students that you wish you’d known as a prospective student?
  2. What complaints do students have about the law school?
  3. What do students mention when they talk about things they like about Drake?
  4. What is the atmosphere within the student body with regard to competition?
  5. What features set Drake Law School apart from other comparable schools?
  6. How do students get selected for the Drake Law Review?
  7. How important are the more subjective factors of an application?
  8. What is the process involving financial aid and merit-based scholarships? Are recipients informed of this before they are expected to pay a deposit?
  9. What kinds of contact with faculty would the typical law student have outside of class?
  10. What kind of jobs to first year students line up for their first summer?
  11. How are first year schedules determined – are they assigned or can a student choose?
  12. What would you tell a student expressing concerns about the current situation in the legal job market and the amounts of debt students are accumulating?
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Justine permalink
    23 October, 2007 11:51 am

    13. How many hours per day will I be able to spend online blogging and such?
    14. Will you provide free transportation to Chicago so I can visit my relatives any time I want?

    😉

  2. 23 October, 2007 1:10 pm

    HA! Very important questions, of course!

Leave a Reply

