Skip to content

housekeeping

24 October, 2007

I’m rather wordy today, just as a forewarning… 

First order of business:

My tour at Drake was really great. I parked away from where everyone else was going and walked a bit more, but it was a beautiful day and I was able to easily leave when things were finished. We started out by registering and then they ushered us into this really cool round room that I learned was a faculty lounge. They left us to our own devices a little bit, but then some current students and professors came in and started introducing themselves and talking to us. Rebecca, the 2L that was talking to me [for those of you not law school inclined, that means she’s in her second year], was really nice and had a lot of great information for me. I met a few professors, one of whom teaches family law. I’m sure I’ll talk to her more. Another professor I met didn’t tell me much about himself but was asking questions about me and the girl I was talking to. The conversation was a bit awkward and halting, but I think it was okay. Later when the assistant dean was introducing the professors, my heart and my stomach switched places. The kind of awkward professor? Well, he’s the head of the admissions council for the school. Great.

Rebecca ended up leading the tour that I was on, so that was enjoyable. We had a small group because none of our parents were along. Really, I was rather surprised to see how many students’ parents were with them. But good for them, I suppose. Anyway, we toured the law clinic and the law school itself. My favorite part by far was the library. Four levels, people. It was quite lovely.

After the tour there was a question and answer session with a guy who was representing the admissions and financial aid office, the director of the career center, a 2L, and a 3L. It was really informative, and the questions I had were pretty much all answered in one way or another.

I really like Drake. The campus is nice, it’s close to some good, cheap housing. It’s kind of in the middle of everything, so it’s not far to get to other sides of town from there. Their library rocks, and everyone was really nice.

Second order of business:

At the open house, there was this girl from Nebraska who is a junior in college. She had herself a legal pad to take notes on, a huge list of questions, and an overly ambitious demeanor. She was asking how early she could apply, and stated that she is taking the LSAT in December. Everyone in the room who is applying this year pretty much rolled their eyes. One word for her: gunner. Thank God she can’t apply until next year so she won’t be in my section.

Third order of business:

I started new classes last night, and got my grades for my other classes. I have an incomplete for my internship, which was planned. I got A’s in the rest of my classes, of course! *grin*

I’m taking Intro to Public Administration and Senior Seminar. And I’m not really looking forward to it compared to my last session of classes.

Fourth order of business:

There are a lot of things to do for my public administration class, but it shouldn’t be bad. I’m sharing the workbook with one girl, and I’m getting an older edition copy of the text from another guy who accidentally ordered two. 

I think that my senior seminar class is going to be really interesting, but it’s going to be a TON of work. We have to give two presentations over chapters in the book, and I was assigned to one that is due this Thursday, and one that is due next Tuesday. We’re in groups of four, but the presentation has to be 45-50 minutes long, and we can’t just regurgitate stuff from the book. It has to be exploring the questions raised by the author and get our classmates to discuss things. Last night after we were assigned our presentations, I met with my Thursday group and briefly apologized to my Tuesday group and told them to let me know what I needed to do. Tonight, I’m going to the library where Libby works [she’s in my Thursday group] to work on the presentation. I’m tired already.

As I was leaving last night, I looked up at the clock to see that it was 10:30 and I was hurrying to get my books put away, and the teacher was watching me. The conversation went as follows:

Teacher: Feeling a bit overwhelmed?

Me: Yeah, a little bit. I am assigned to chapters 2 and 4, which are both due within a week.

Teacher: Look at it this way, you’ll be done early. No waiting!

Me: Right. I guess so. *leaves class*

Who is she kidding? Yes, it means that I’ll be done early. But doesn’t she realize that most evening students are evening students because we have work and family to tend to? I don’t have kids, but my life is really busy right now. I’d rather have a bit more of a spaced out schedule so that I actually have time to sleep or do laundry or cook a meal. She’s pretentious and I don’t like her.

So now instead of going home and spending a few fleeting hours with my hubby, I have to go to the library to work on a presentation. Lovely.

Oh, by the way, here’s how the next few weeks shape up for me in terms of projects due:

Thursday, 10/25: Chapter 2 presentation for senior seminar

Tuesday, 10/30: Chapter 4 presentation for senior seminar; Paper #1 for public administration

Thursday, 11/1: Resume, cover letter, follow up letter for senior seminar; debate on the USA PATRIOT Act for public administration [on the against side]

Tuesday: 11/6: Paper #2 for public administration

Thursday: 11/8: Holycrap, nothing’s due!!!

Tuesday: 11/13: Paper #3 for public administration; presentation on decision making for public administration

Plus, the normal reading assignments and answering questions for each chapter. My teachers are conspiring to kill me, I swear it.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. libby permalink
    24 October, 2007 12:27 pm

    I’m freaking out a little. I was okay last night, but this morning I had to go to Grandview to get my books and register for spring. When I witness the levels of ineptitude that are reached in some departments of that school (I’m talking to you business office!) I worry about the fact that my future is in there hands.

    On a happy note I got my book, which should greatly improve my chances of participating in a group project tomorrow!

  2. Llama Momma permalink
    24 October, 2007 1:00 pm

    Just wanted to let you know that I just got done reading your blog….I’ll comment more later….after reading everything you have to do I really need to go take a nap…..love ya!

  3. 24 October, 2007 1:17 pm

    libby: Yeah. It’s scary to think about the people that work at that school, and in every office regarding money. Let me guess. There’s still a hold on your account because the loan funds haven’t come through or something. They need to fix that, because if I have loan funds coming through, I should NOT have to visit the business office EVERY TIME I need to do something. And YAY! You got the book! See you tonight!

    llama: LOL Love you too. You know exactly how to make me laugh!

  4. Amber/Daydreamer permalink
    24 October, 2007 5:32 pm

    Every time I read your blog, I find another reason to admire you! YOU GO GIRL!!! Straight A’s!!! I don’t know how you do it!

  5. 24 October, 2007 5:57 pm

    Whoo! That project schedule hurts me just reading it. (And I expect there to be much celebrating on 11/8 and the preceding days, if only an interim prior to paper #3 being due.) But hooray for a good Tour de Drake!

  6. 25 October, 2007 12:06 am

    DRAKEEEEEEEE
    DRAKEEEEEEEE
    go go go go
    DRAKEEEEEEE!

    and Lisslo… holy schmokes, girl! That’s alotta stinkin work you got!

  7. 25 October, 2007 11:49 am

    Amber: Hee hee… Sometimes I don’t know either. 🙂

    Crimson: I know, right?

  8. 25 October, 2007 12:44 pm

    I recommend you quit school. You can become a slacker like me and we can totally hang at the 7-11. S’fun.

  9. 25 October, 2007 1:15 pm

    Canary: HA! Thanks, but I’ve worked far too hard.

  10. 20 December, 2007 12:33 pm

    very interesting. i’m adding in RSS Reader

Leave a Reply

