Skip to content

the one where tweedledum costs me a point***

31 October, 2007

So last night I gave my second presentation for my senior seminar. My group members shall subsequently be referred to as Tweedledum and Tweedledee, and competant lady. We had originally come up with the idea to split the chapter among the four of us, and each of us would be responsible for summarizing our section and discussing it with the class. Competant lady volunteered to come up with a game, and I volunteered to form a small group activity. Tweedledum insisted that she be the one to put together the powerpoint, and Tweedledee…well, she didn’t do anything.

Tweedledum didn’t bother to bring her thumb drive with the powerpoint on it so we could use it for the class. She didn’t even bother to make a printout of it, blaming it on competant lady. Luckily we had one printed copy so the teacher could make copies of handouts for us. Otherwise, we would have been screwed. Our entire group got the shaft on this one, though. We all lost a point for having no real visual aid for people who learn visually. Thanks, Tweedledum. I knew I should have gone with instinct and made up a presentation of my own.

On top of that, Tweedledum didn’t even present things like she was supposed to. She just summarized content from the book and read it to the class. The whole point of these presentations is to ask questions on the content based on the idea that the class has read the information and is prepared for discussion. Thankfully we’re graded individually, and I know that she had points deducted for that. I also want to thank whoever the student was that wrote on their evaluation “Good job [competant lady] and Melissa.” Hee hee…

I also lost one point because GWAMQ didn’t get my questions, but wouldn’t shut up long enough to let other people talk about it so that she could pick up on things. I didn’t get the impression that she understood the reading in the first place because a lot of her comments were completely irrelevant. Not that it was exactly shocking… The exact quote that the teacher wrote on my rubric was “the questions following the content of the theories was difficult for some members of the class to get.” So really, the points I lost weren’t my fault.

Overall, I received 48/50 points for the two presentations. Not bad at all considering I had to do them all within a week of their assignment!

***Thanks to Libby for the great idea for their names.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. LawGirl permalink
    31 October, 2007 10:41 am

    Ah yes. Your post reminds me why I prefer to avoid group work like the plague. Sometimes it works out really well. Other times… ehh, not so much.

    Still, at least your grade was good!

  2. 31 October, 2007 11:42 am

    Alas, I could not have avoided group presentation, much to my chagrin. Fortunately, I am finished with my group work for this class, at least when it comes to major projects. And we still have 3/4 of the class to go!

  3. Amber/Daydreamer permalink
    31 October, 2007 3:11 pm

    I hate when other people drop the ball! What asswipes. I know that sounds so immature but really, what asswipes! Good on you, though Liss!

  4. 31 October, 2007 3:13 pm

    Hee hee… So what?! They ARE asswipes. Asswipes supreme. *giggle*

  5. Justine permalink
    1 November, 2007 2:01 pm

    That sounds like something you’d order at a drive-through for the bathroom!

    “I’d like one roll of toilet paper and two asswipes supreme, please.”

    *dying laughing*

  6. 1 November, 2007 2:23 pm

    HA! Niiiiice. *giggle*

  7. 2 November, 2007 1:57 am

    OMG! Justine that’s hilarious. Lisslo, My brother used to call me Tweedledumb. So I used to call him Tweedledummer. ha. I love those names. Don’t worry. We love each other now. But when we were younger, oh man!

  8. 2 November, 2007 8:27 am

    Norma: Ah, the creativity of childhood! My brother and I are the same way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

