Skip to content

school stuff

2 November, 2007

The debate went well last night. I could tell the professor liked the quotes I had from cases and from people like Benjamin Franklin by the way he kept nodding as I said them. Plus, the other girl was well prepared to debate whether or not the USA Patriot Act is a good thing, not really whether or not the government has a right to spy on its people. Hopefully he caught on to that and will give me the full points since I actually answered the question he asked.

In senior seminar, she passed out the full assignment for our “midterm” paper. It’s going to basically amount to a 22-30 page paper that involves summarizing five chapters from the book, taking positions on the philosophical questions, and then defending those positions. It’s not that it won’t be interesting, but it will be a TON of work. And it’s due in 18 days.

She also talked to us about our final project, which involves identifying a real problem in an agency and then coming up with multiple solutions. Then, we have to choose one and present it as a policy brief at some sort of convention. I think. Anyway, she informed us that we get to pick our groups of 3-5 people, so naturally Libby and I already know we’ll be in the same group. We also flagged down a girl in our class named MacKenzie, because we’ve seen her present in class. She talked to me after class, and we agreed that we wanted to be in a group of capable people because the project sounds really tough. We’re trying to set ourselves up for success, and it will be nice to have an even workload for once. We’ll have to figure out if we are going to expand our group, or if we’ll keep it small and simple. I think we shall from now on be referred to as the Brain Trust. Hee…

I thought things would slow down once I got major presentations out of the way, but it’s not looking too likely. I really want to get my applications sent in for a couple of law schools, but I need to rework my personal statement before I can do that. Hopefully it will work out so that I can get a ton of stuff done this weekend, and once my internship ends things should get slightly easier (45 hours to go!!!). I need to maximize any free time I have now and just work my tail off until Christmas break. That’s kind of demoralizing because there’s not a quick end in sight…but it’ll be fine. At least there’s an end in sight at all. 🙂

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 2 November, 2007 12:23 pm

    Wow! You’re going to law school? What kind of law were you thinking of going into?

  2. 2 November, 2007 12:37 pm

    Colsy: I was thinking originally criminal law. Now I’m leaning more toward public interest, which would allow me to focus on both criminal law AND family law/children’s rights. Gotta keep my options open, you know. 🙂

  3. 2 November, 2007 4:36 pm

    You love it. All of it.

    I can tell.

  4. 2 November, 2007 4:43 pm

    I… well…

    *sigh*

    I know.

    😉

  5. 4 November, 2007 7:26 pm

    heeee! Can you imagine when all this is over and done with and you’re an attorney? You’re going to miss all these papers and deadlines and headaches and dealing with stupid people and .. ok ok who are we kidding? NO you’re not!

  6. Justine permalink
    4 November, 2007 9:25 pm

    I’m getting teary-eyed thinking of my little niece Missy (you KNOW that’s how I’ll always picture you…my first little niece!) as a big-shot attorney! Happens every time. I’m so very proud of you!

    P.S. I’m LOVING the new blog look!

  7. 5 November, 2007 9:22 am

    Norma: hee hee… but all of that is BILLABLE HOURS!

    Aunt Tine: *grin* Thank you.

Leave a Reply

