Skip to content

all I know is I don’t wanna stop

5 November, 2007

Last Friday night, Ryan and I went to see Ozzy with special guest Rob Zombie. We had fourth row floor seats, and it was an amazing show! Rob Zombie is quite a showman, and Ozzy still has it after all of these years.

Rob Zombie is crazy, but he puts on one hell of a show. All of his music has a good beat and the visuals added volumes to his part of the concert. His whole band is incredible, too.

I’m completely impressed with Ozzy’s new album. He never expected to be able to write while clean, and this album proves him quite capable. Obviously he has different motivations now, and it’s great that he’s still out there. The title of my post is from his song I Don’t Wanna Stop, and I hope he doesn’t for awhile. I’d go and see his show again, to be sure.

Here’s an excerpt from Lay Your World On Me, about his wife Sharon’s battle with cancer:

Give me your pain
Give me your anger
Let me be your rock
I can be the pillar of strength that you need
I’ll help you keep it all together
It’s better late than never
Lay your world on me
I can take the weight

We all laugh and we all cry
We all hurt the same inside
We all fall down and we lose faith in who we really are
But if we bend instead of break
The choice for us is to make it together
Lay your world on me

And of course, here are some photos from the show: The opening band was In This Moment. No offense to them, but I’m thankful they only played 5 songs. It was pretty much a girl in a slutty Alice in Wonderland dress prancing around and screaming while three guys kicked ass on bass, guitar, and drums. Not really my thing.

Zombie came out next, to the theme of Halloween being played. Creepy. Anyway, like I said before he puts on one amazing show.

 

Rob Zombie’s drummer (Tommy Clufetos) was awesome, too.

Ozzy’s bassist, Blasko. He rocked!

Zakk Wylde killed it on guitar. He’s a god, I swear it. I don’t know many other guitarists who could hold the audience captive for a 20 minute guitar solo. He played behind his head, with his mouth… Yeah. He rocked.

And of course, we have the Ozzman himself. What a great show!

He sprayed the first eight or so rows with this firehose that shot out soap suds. The first time, I got my camera put away in time. The second time, he suddenly had the damn thing in his hands and I swear it was aimed right at me. *grin* My camera got some of it, but it’s fine, no worries. I got soaked on the front, and then whilst protecting my camera I got a good six to ten inches of suds covering the entire back of my body. It was so much fun! No, there aren’t any pictures of me covered because my camera was drying.

After the show this guy gave me his email address because he didn’t bring a camera and wanted to know if I could email him my pictures. He told me send everything and he would print them off, and then mail me a copy if I included my address. Woo hoo!

The rest of the set from the concert is here if you’re interested.

We were exhausted by the end of the night, but it was SO worth it. And we’re doing it all again (albeit a bit tamer with John Mellencamp) next Friday!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Amber/Daydreamer permalink
    5 November, 2007 2:43 pm

    I think I’m more impressed with your pictures! They are great and you two are adorable!

  2. libby permalink
    5 November, 2007 3:10 pm

    looks awesome, glad you had a good time.

  3. 5 November, 2007 3:50 pm

    thanks, amber and libby. 🙂

  4. 5 November, 2007 4:19 pm

    What camera are you using?

  5. 5 November, 2007 4:40 pm

    Sony DSC-H1.

    http://www.flickr.com/cameras/sony/dsc-h1/

    I love it!

  6. Justine permalink
    6 November, 2007 3:41 pm

    Glad you and Ryan had a good time. See my comment in Amber’s blog about the rock/mineral show. Now I CAN think of something I’d rather do LESS than go to a rock/mineral show! hee

  7. 6 November, 2007 4:43 pm

    🙂 S’okay. At least we’ve finally found one difference between the two of us!! LOL

  8. Justine permalink
    6 November, 2007 5:01 pm

    Oh, there are many more, but be thankful! There are a lot of ways in which you wouldn’t want to be like me! 😉

Leave a Reply

