Skip to content

well…

8 November, 2007
tags: , ,

Around 2 pm today, Ryan will be filling in our well. Yay! I was so happy to get rural water (clean! not contaminated! fresh! clear! odorless!)… And this is the final goodbye to our well. Our horrible, disgusting, contaminated well.

There’s an official that will be coming to watch Ryan do it, which is funny to me. The guy has to make sure he does it right. He has to put in bentonite and some sort of filler. In this case, he chose to use just loose limestone gravel. He could have used sand, but if we had extra we don’t know what we would have done with it. Extra rock can be used for our driveway. 🙂

So the well used to look like this (to the left – the concrete tube sticking up):

And now that he’s torn some of that concrete tubing up…

 

…it looks like this (under all that dirt is the cap that was on top of the well when it stuck out of the ground):

Here is the rock that has to go into the well along with the bentonite:

 

So when all of that is done, he will put the dirt back over it, and our yard will be flat! Woo hoo!

I know I can’t get much more boring than I have today. But I’m busy people. How much fun can I make a post about filling in a well?! *grin*

Oh, and one last photo:

That’s our water meter. For rural water. Clean, uncontaminated, fresh, clear, odorless rural water. And I love it.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. 8 November, 2007 12:04 pm

    Woo hoo to rural water!!

  2. 8 November, 2007 12:10 pm

    I concur! 😀

  3. 8 November, 2007 1:06 pm

    wow! I’ve never actually known a person who owned a well before. So cool!

  4. 8 November, 2007 1:07 pm

    BUT alas… goodbye well… hello water. BTW… right now I can hear Lassie barking, “Timmy is stuck in the well, help.. bark bark.. we haven’t much time bark bark… we need to save him”

  5. 8 November, 2007 1:09 pm

    Norma: Hee hee… It’s not too common anymore. *giggle*

  6. Llama Momma permalink
    8 November, 2007 1:29 pm

    I just got it…well…well…

    Hush…I’m sleep deprived!

  7. 8 November, 2007 3:17 pm

    *throws head back and laughs*

    Oh, Llama. It’s okay.

  8. Amber/Daydreamer permalink
    8 November, 2007 7:16 pm

    I have a septic tank. Somehow, I am not proud of this.

    Good on you for the clean water!

  9. Justine permalink
    8 November, 2007 9:23 pm

    I am a spoiled brat who gets her water delivered. In my defense, there was goose poop found in our local water last year. YUMMY!

    Congrats on your fareWELL. Get it? hee

  10. 9 November, 2007 9:55 am

    *waves hand* Oh, Amber. We have a septic tank, too. Part of living in the country. 🙂

    Aunt Tine: Um, I’d get my water delivered too. Ew.

    Thank you for the pun. I love cheesy puns. *giggle*

Trackbacks

  1. that was totally out of left field « terra nullius

Leave a Reply

