Skip to content

Two American kids doin’ the best they can…

13 November, 2007

The show was great! My ticket was part of Mom’s birthday present for me, so happy birthday to me (17 days from today)! 

Ryan and I getting ready for the show: 

 

Mom and I waiting…waiting….waiting. We shouldn’t have gotten there so early. Hee hee. You can kind of see my new short hair here. I’ll post more pictures later, though.

The opener was Los Lobos. Yes, ba-la-la-la-la-bamba (which is para bailar la bamba, really). They were fun and played a lot of good music. I didn’t exactly know it, but it was still good!

Then John came out and put on a high energy, fun, interesting show. I had a great time. Our seats were further away that we’ve been accustomed to lately (we’ve been spoiled!), but they were still great!

I love the effect he used here:

He brought John Edwards out on stage to very mixed reactions. There was a lot of cheering and clapping, but also some booing. People could be a bit more polite. I don’t necessarily support John Edwards, but I clapped. This guy behind us kept calling it a gutsy move, but I disagree. We don’t want our entertainers to be drones who get up on stage, sing their songs, and never talk or have opinions. At least, I don’t. He’s been political for a long time – he’s been involved with Farm Aid for 20 years!-and if you don’t know that, you aren’t a John Mellencamp fan. You just like to hear his stuff on the radio.

He played a mix of old favorites, and some new ones off his album Freedom’s Road.

He also played a song that’s exclusively on the internet right now about the Jena Six. It was very powerful.

It was a great show, despite the fact that he didn’t play Hurts So Good. But as he said, you can’t ride on Hurts So Good forever!

He also played a song that he said was for his under-30 fans. It’s called Minutes to Memories and is about an old man telling a young man about his life and giving him sage advice. I really like the lyrics of the chorus in particular:

Days turn to minutes
And minutes to memories
Life sweeps away the dreams
That we have planned
You are young and you are the future
So suck it up and tough it out
And be the best you can

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Justine permalink
    13 November, 2007 3:52 pm

    Sounds like fun!!!!!! What’s with the pin-up girl on Ryan’s shirt?? hee

  2. 13 November, 2007 4:07 pm

    Hee hee… He thinks it’s cool. It’s not so bad, really. I’ve seen worse. 🙂

  3. Justine permalink
    15 November, 2007 2:42 pm

    They always think that stuff is cool. They being boys, of course. *giggle*

Leave a Reply

