Skip to content

a rose by any other name?

18 December, 2007

According to this story, officials in Italy forcibly renamed a baby Gregory. His parents named him and had him baptized as Friday, but apparently that was too “ridiculous or shameful” for Italian authorities. Custom says one should be named something with Christian origins.

Can you imagine if that were the practice in the United States? All of the Tuesdays, Scouts, and Januarys would have had to be renamed. Celebrities couldn’t name their children weird things. Cases in point:

  • Frank Zappa: Moon Unit, Dweezil, Diva
  • Gwyneth Paltrow and Chris Martin: Apple
  • Penn Gillette: Moxy Crimefighter
  • Bruce Willis and Demi Moore: Rumer, Scout
  • Jason Lee: Pilot Inspektor

Could you imagine? Oh, and I just want to comment that Moxy is a cute name…but why pair it with Crimefighter? Honestly. I can’t imagine having a name like that. I grew up with the name Melissa for goodness’ sake! I wished my whole life to have a more unique name because there were always several Melissas in my class. I wished to be called Margaret, a name my mother considered before I was born. There were no Maggies in my class! I wished to be called Savannah or Isabel or anything but Sarah, Jennifer, or Melissa. I can’t say I ever wished to be called Rainbow or Sailor or Driver, though.

Really, my name isn’t the one in question here. Living here in the U.S., I can’t imagine the government just stepping in and changing a child’s name like that. It may or may not be a bad thing given the fact that there are children out there who likely suffer because of the names their parents give them, but that’s just the point. It’s their parents that give them those names. We as adults have every right to change our name if we see fit for whatever reason [unless of course it’s for fraudulent reasons] – all you need is a court order. God Bless America.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 18 December, 2007 10:25 am

    It now occurs to me that Gwyneth and Chris were hoping everyone would call their daughter “Apple martini”.

    I heart Pilot Inspektor as a name. 🙂

  2. 18 December, 2007 11:00 am

    Princess Consuela Banana-Hammock!

  3. 18 December, 2007 12:24 pm

    Poppy: HAHAHAHAHAHA! How did I miss that?! Apple Martini. Shaken, not stirred. *giggle*

    Canary: Eek! Can you imagine learning how to spell that one as a kid?! (I heart Phoebe, btw.)

  4. Llama Momma permalink
    18 December, 2007 1:28 pm

    I like the name Jaelynn…it is very original…unlike Jadien or however it is spelled this month! Ooohh…I’m very bad.

  5. 18 December, 2007 2:07 pm

    *giggle* Oh, llama. Are they still stuck on using that name?

  6. 19 December, 2007 1:58 am

    It’s Catholic tradition to baptize your child with a Christian name. I guess in Italy it’s more than tradition? Crazy!

    I was also jealous as a child because when my mom had my first two siblings, she was Catholic so when she baptized them, they got their traditional “Christian?/Catholic”?? name. So my sister is Rocio (which means morning dew and is pronounce Rose – ee- Oh) but when she was baptized it became Maria del Rocio. Maria= Mary

    my bro is Juan Ramon (John Raymond)

    me? NORMA.

    Say it with me. NORMAN no, no no not NORMAN as I was called all through growing up NORMA.

    blech.
    That’s it.

    Not Norma Jerusalem.
    or Norma Delilah, or Norma Jezzabel.

    Simply NORMA. boo hisss. ha. Just kidding. Sorta.

  7. 19 December, 2007 9:30 am

    Norma: You could GIVE yourself a name. 🙂 I’m sure your mom would love it… Okay, maybe not.

Leave a Reply

