Skip to content

DHL = defrauding hustlers & louses

20 December, 2007

Let me tell you a lovely, warm Christmas story. I ordered presents for Ryan, my grandma, and my mother on Amazon.com on December 10, 2007. They shipped out via DHL Home on December 13, 2007.

According to DHL’s website, they arrived in their Des Moines center early in the wee morning hours of December 17, 2007. Three days ago.

I still don’t have my flipping packages.

I spoke with someone yesterday who insisted that the packages were with the courier and that they would be delivered by end of business yesterday. If they weren’t, the packages were to be held at their center (and I was to be called to inform me of their arrival) so that I could pick them up. Despite the fact that I paid $12 for shipping, I was willing to accept this. Whatever.

Didn’t happen.

I called today and was informed that the type of packages I had couldn’t be picked up at the center, and that they had to be delivered through the Postal Service. Apparently, DHL doesn’t feel the need to drive on gravel roads or somesuch, so they pay the postal service to deliver their packages. Well, the guy I spoke to this morning insisted that the packages had been delivered to the post office and that he would call me back to let me know who had signed for them. Ryan had spoken with the postmaster who informed him there was no DHL delivery whatsoever yesterday. So I said they were liars.

I waited, and waited, and waited. Four hours later, I called back. Irate, of course.

Now I have been informed that my package has not in fact been delivered to the post office. Instead, due to an “overabundance of freight,” it has been handed over to some third party courier who is supposedly going to deliver it “possibly tomorrow, Monday at the latest” to my post office, who is supposed to deliver it to me (or I can pick the package up from them). Apparently, DHL Home service is not guaranteed right now because of their little abundance. Well it would have been nice to know this when I ordered my merchandise ten days ago. I was not informed of it, and that is not my fault.

So, let’s review that chain of custody:

Amazon –> DHL –> Some 3rd Party –> The Post Office –> Me

What kind of bull is that? DHL has had my packages since December 13th. That’s a week, people. Now I might not have my Christmas presents before we leave town. That is simply unacceptable to me.

The worst part? There’s absolutely nothing I can do about it. DHL can go suck it. And that’s how I feel. Merry freaking Christmas.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Justine permalink
    20 December, 2007 8:25 pm

    GRRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!!!! I cannot stand when stuff like this happens. Poor Miss.

  2. 21 December, 2007 9:52 am

    *sigh* It’s ridiculous!

    Not only have I had this issue, I ordered two shirts from Eddie Bauer earlier this month. They sent me a shirt and a pair of pants. Customer service told me to return the pants and that they were sending the correct item out. THEN THEY PROCEEDED TO BILL ME FOR THE SHIRT AGAIN.

    I can’t catch a break.

  3. Mike permalink
    14 January, 2008 12:15 am

    Your package was likely shipped using DHL @Home service which is designed to be delivered by DHL to your local post office, who then delivers it to you. It is not the same as DHL Ground (and Express services) where DHL delivers directly to you. Your complaint should be with Amazon who is choosing the slower service, not with DHL. For the record, both UPS and FedEx offer similar services where they deliver to your post office who does the delivery to you – they’re called UPS Mail Innovations and FedEx Smartpost.

  4. 14 January, 2008 8:09 am

    Mike, actually my complaint was forwarded to both Amazon and DHL. My issue with DHL is that I got three stories from three different people, each one very different from the last. Thanks for the info, though.

  5. 9 July, 2008 10:45 am

    I had the same @$## thing happen just this week with my new Dell computer. Dell used DHL and the post office delivered it. It sat with the USPS for almost a week! Why not just ship USPS the whole way so at least I can track it because once it left possession of DHL there were no further updates.

  6. 9 July, 2008 12:58 pm

    Mo, I can definitely understand. It is so frustrating! Had I been told that it would have been a headache like that, I would never have ordered stuff online.

  7. Brian permalink
    25 July, 2008 2:37 pm

    So i’m not the only one….. but I had from my bank Loan Paperwork sent overnight by DHL and after it arrived not overnight…. thwo nights later in a Hub about 7 hours away from me…. it has not arrived yet. and it has been now 12 days. And since this Package needed to be signed by me and noone other….. well since it had been now about 9 days since my bank should have received the filled out paperwork and i had the money… we are talking $50.000 which i haven’t received yet due to this all the things that had to be paid with this are now ………. Well it has been a pleassure being serviced by a german company. I lived in germany for along time and i have to say…… Bull@#$%

    Should i Sue? it has been a damage already of 5 figures.

  8. 25 July, 2008 4:38 pm

    Brian: Ouch. It might be worth it. Unfortunately they might give you the BS excuse that their delivery dates are just “estimates”, but 12 days for an overnight is BEYOND RIDICULOUS. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

