Skip to content

a new level of annoyance

10 January, 2008

There are people in our everyday lives that get on our nerves for one reason or another. They may have a habit that they don’t even know that they have, like chomping their food with their mouth open, or popping their knuckles perpetually, or even breathing funny. Yes, that’ s what I said. The point of this is that there is this one person in my life, and they happen to be someone I’m paid 8 hours of the day to have to be around. No, it’s not Supervisor’s Assistant, for once. Anyway, this person is like several of my pet peeves all rolled into one.

  1. She burps and/or belches repeatedly throughout the day without covering her mouth or attempting to be quiet about it. At all. She rarely excuses herself. I may be wrong, but for someone to be so young to be so gassy can’t possibly be right. I think she should get that checked out.
  2. She is one of those “stand by your man” kind of girls. Despite the fact that she’s not married to this guy, nor does she have any children by him, she’s sticking by her boyfriend who is currently serving time in jail for something. I haven’t asked for the full story, because well, see #3.
  3. Everything she talks about is a long, convuluted story with several meandering corollaries. If I were to ask about the aforementioned boyfriend’s trangressions, I would likely get a 45 minute story about what placed him in jail, his childhood, his friend’s involvement, and how good he is with her daughter.
  4. I realize that I am younger than most people that work here and I have a sense of superiority over them. However, I feel that through a unique life experience combined with education, I have earned that sense. She is a naive less than twenty-year-old who believes that she knows everything about everything because she graduated high school and has taken a few online classes toward a two-year accounting degree. And it’s annoying, because well, see #3.
  5. She butts into conversations that have absolutely nothing to do with her. For example, yesterday The Receptionist asked me to spell lasagna for her, and as I was spelling it, this person decided to pipe in and finish it for me. When she was done, I said “thanks, Melissa.” That’s not her name. That’s my name. And The Receptionist had addressed me specifically, as in “Melissa, how do you spell lasagna?” I know, it’s a trivial example, but it’s the most recent one.

She’s five pet peeves rolled into one annoying package. And she’s my cubicle neighbor to boot. Don’t get me wrong. She’s a perfectly nice girl, and we’ve sort of banded together against the Blue Hairs… But damn. It’s like a new level of annoyance.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Josh permalink
    11 January, 2008 10:11 am

    Think of it this way; when you are gone, she’ll be there to annoy the blue hairs.

    Also, I think I saw somewhere that being gassy is a sign of good digestion

  2. 11 January, 2008 12:48 pm

    Jeez…yeah…I have one of those. For some reason, there is always that ‘one person’. I can never decide if it’s really their peeves or just them.

  3. 11 January, 2008 2:19 pm

    Josh: Ideally, yes. And thanks for the info…

    Makazeminion: LOL I feel your pain. And that’s a very good question…I’m leaning toward it being just them.

  4. 11 January, 2008 2:19 pm

    And apparently I’m slow, because I just now realized that was you, Colsy.

  5. 11 January, 2008 5:35 pm

    Maybe if you took her under your wing…. Well, at least the belches might stop.

  6. 11 January, 2008 7:54 pm

    LOL I’ll consider that, Hoss!!

Leave a Reply

