Skip to content

me gusto amarillo…

11 January, 2008

So my Spanish teacher has a few interesting methods in teaching… But it’s great because it’s truly interesting, and it keeps all of us awake for our late class.

The first night, we spent 1/2 an hour standing, sitting, touching the table and our chair and our books, and pointing to classmates and such. Heh. It really worked though. I remember pretty much everything… Except how to say leg. I can’t remember leg. Pierda? Perda? Pierna? I dunno. And I’m too lazy to look it up.

We played counting and sorting games with M&M’s last night in Spanish class. It was fun! Despite the fact that they all taste the same amarillo (yellow) would have to be my favorite.

Before that, Libby attempted to kill me while we played a game that helped us learn the letters of the Spanish alphabet. We had them written out on a piece of paper, the professor would say a letter, and we’d have to say it, then mark it to get a point. I seriously nearly got stabbed. Twice. But, I’ve forgiven her. Because well, she’s Libby.

Anyway, we have our first test Tuesday! Yes, you read that right. Class just started, and we have an exam. Oh, well. It’s okay. It’s pretty much all review for me anyway. Wish me luck. (You can say buena suerta.)

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Embily permalink
    11 January, 2008 9:13 pm

    Ahh!! Que Bueno! Me gusta mucho espanol, pero no recuerdo mucho por que hace mas o menos cuatro anos que estudiar el idioma.

  2. libby permalink
    12 January, 2008 6:18 pm

    In my opinion the whole “stabbing” situation has been blown way out of proportion. I just enjoy competition. I noticed you didn’t mention that I won that game. Eye of the tiger baby!

  3. 12 January, 2008 9:24 pm

    The standing/pointing is exactly how my high school Spanish teacher started each year.

    He was also a 6’4 230 pound gay man who loved horses. But that’s another story. Good luck (buena suerta) on the test.

    All the best

  4. Justine permalink
    13 January, 2008 8:49 pm

    I think it’s pierna. But I’m too lazy to look it up too. I miss Spanish! I took seven years of it and taught it for two. Muy divertido!

  5. 14 January, 2008 8:27 am

    Em! Hola! And I’m impressed. You seem to be doing pretty well even if it’s been awhile!

    Libby: *grin* Hey, it’s my blog. You can tell your story how you like, and I’ll tell mine. And yes. You won. Are you happy!?

    Brad: HA! That would have been a sight to see. And gracias!

    Aunt Tine: I think you’re right. 🙂 I didn’t know you taught Spanish. Maybe I did, but I forgot… LOL

  6. Josh permalink
    14 January, 2008 11:14 am

    I’ve never taken any Spanish, but you are bringing back some serious Dora the Explorer flashbacks..

    Also, I seriously hope that isn’t the last time I experience Libby saying “eye of the over baby!” That was awesome.

  7. Josh permalink
    14 January, 2008 11:20 am

    Ack! Cursed typos.. iPhone schmiPhone!

    Over=tiger

  8. 14 January, 2008 11:58 am

    Damn iPhones. Clearly they must be overrated.

  9. 14 January, 2008 11:58 am

    And as a preemptive answer, yes I’m saying that because I don’t have one.

  10. Josh permalink
    14 January, 2008 12:35 pm

    Darn preemptive strike!

  11. 14 January, 2008 12:57 pm

    I’ve found that it’s the best policy.

  12. 23 January, 2008 2:16 am

    Te gusta amarillo? A mi tambien! Buena suerte en tu examen. Aunque yo pienso que NO lo necesitas.

  13. 23 January, 2008 2:02 pm

    Heh. You’re too kind, Norma. Muchas gracias, mi amiga.

Leave a Reply

