Skip to content

love and pancakes

14 January, 2008

So it turns out that I have an funny, amazing, supportive, and adorable husband. I know, who knew? Kidding, kidding. I knew, or I wouldn’t have married him in the first place. Anyway, he’s been making my current school work, internship, and future law school work so much better because he’s just been there for me and made sure I’ve been okay all along. Even to the point of saying, hey, you okay today?

In terms of law school, Ryan’s really supportive of where I want to go. We sat down a long time ago and decided that we would stick with schools in Iowa and surrounding states for the simple fact that we would like to remain near our families for when we have kids. I know I want my children to know their cousins, and to be able to be friends with them like I am with some of mine and Ryan is with some of his. Even if it stresses me out sometimes.

In our crazy lives, we feel like we’re always running, all the time. So we’ve developed a sort of monthly tradition where we get up Saturday morning and make a big breakfast together. It’s nice to take that time to laugh and joke and love and just be together. We whip up bacon and eggs (for me) and pancakes, and occasionally hash browns. We dodge in and out of each other, helping one another and switching jobs here and there. It’s like a comedic ballet, really. I hope that we can continue it for a long, long time.

Last Saturday we did our dance, and ate our brunch. He teased me the whole time because the first pancake I made, I flipped too early. Nope, that cliche about the first pancake always being burned doesn’t hold true with me… Apparently I’m impatient. 😀 He took over from there, and all day long I heard about his mad pancake flipping skills.

Don’t tell Ryan, but he’s totally better at pancakes than me.

Such a show off with the whole first letter of my name just for me business. Kinda sweet, though. I told him I want my whole name for my birthday! As long as we have these pancake mornings, we’ll always have time to make one another feel loved, and make one another laugh.

He’ll never beat me at eggs, though. Because I rock at those!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Llama Momma permalink
    15 January, 2008 8:20 am

    That is so sweet! Since little llama has been with us we do a lot more cooking together. Sometimes this women just needs some extra hands in the kitchen! Plus…there is something totally sexy about Kevin mashing potatoes!

  2. Josh permalink
    15 January, 2008 9:00 am

    This makes me think of when I used to get up and make the kids Mickey Mouse shaped pancakes, complete with a strawberry bow tie(or bow for Minnie) and a face made of fruit or chocolate syrup.

    It’s great that you guys have it so good after so long(five years, right?). That’s pretty rare.

  3. 15 January, 2008 9:09 am

    Llama: 😀 You’re so funny. Who says men helping around the house can’t be sexy!?

    Josh: How cute! Seven years, actually. We are definitely lucky.

  4. Josh permalink
    15 January, 2008 9:13 am

    Wow, that’s right.. Seven. Pretty impressive.

    I’ll show you my mouse technique and you can show him up. 😉

  5. Amber/Daydreamer permalink
    17 January, 2008 1:28 pm

    I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: “CLONE HIM! CLONE HIM! COME ON EVERYBODY! CHANT! CLONE HIM!”

  6. 21 January, 2008 9:22 pm

    That is the coolest pancake I’ve ever seen.

  7. 22 January, 2008 10:41 am

    Amber: Hee hee… No can do. He’s all mine!

    Poppy: I know, right? I’m sure he could make a “P” one for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

