Skip to content

oy with the poodles already

14 January, 2008

On Friday, I uploaded a couple of Gilmore Girls bumper stickers on Facebook. Basically they’re an image that you can slap on your profile to “personalize” it. This is one of them:

Today, when I opened up Facebook, I had a message from a stranger. Someone I have never spoken to or met. Here’s what it said:

“btw you spelled it wrong its OI with the poodles already!”

Okay. Wow. Um…who does this? What went through her head while she was sending this message? “I’m going to email this random stranger that she’s wrong despite the fact that I’m a complete tool.” Okay, maybe not. But still! Who cares?! Don’t add the bumper sticker if you feel that it’s wrong. *sigh* Oh, and another thing. Use some freaking punctuation.

So, unable to resist an opportunity to correct someone who incorrectly corrected me, I emailed back.

Oi is british slang meaning “hey!”, where you’re trying to get someone’s attention.

Oy is a yiddish exclamation of dismay or exasperation.

I’m pretty sure it’s oy. But thanks. Really.”

I could’ve gone on and on and analyzed Lorelai’s use of the word “oy” in the context of the episode it was from. But I didn’t do that, even though I REALLY wanted to. So…I’ll do it here!

“Lorelai: Heh, you know what I just realized? “Oy” is the funniest word in the entire world.

Rory: Hmm.

Lorelai: I mean think about it, you never hear the word “oy” and not smile. Impossible. Funny, funny word.

Emily: Oh, dear God.

Lorelai: “Poodle” is another funny word.

Emily: Please drink your drink, Lorelai.

Lorelai: In fact, if you put “oy” and “poodle” together, in the same sentence, you’d have a great new catchphrase, you know? Like, “Oy with the poodles already.”

Rory: Hehe…

Lorelai: So from now on, when the perfect circumstances arise, we will use our favorite new catchphrase!

Rory: Oy with the poodles already!

Lorelai: I’m telling you, it’s knocking “Whatchu talkin’ ’bout, Willis?” right out of first place.”

It’s clearly oy. Not oi. It’s not “Hey! With the poodles already.”

As Marshall from How I Met Your Mother would say, she’s been lawyered.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 23 January, 2008 2:13 am

    DAMN! People on facebook are tools. What the hell? The other day on Dr. Phil they had two girls on. One was a 16 year old moron. The other was a complete STRANGER to her who told her she was a complete moron on FACEBOOK. they met in real life on Dr. Phil.

    Seriously? If you think I’m an idiot and I don’t know you guess what? SHUTTAHELLUP and keep it to yourself for jimminey’s sake. Weirdo. Get a life.

    Oy!

  2. 23 January, 2008 2:03 pm

    They are. I don’t even get it. She’s probably some fifteen year old in honors english who thinks her word is the gospel.

    Clearly not.

    Oy indeed!

Leave a Reply

