Skip to content

alis volat propis

16 January, 2008
tags: , ,

“She flies with her own wings.”

Kind of beautiful, isn’t it? I stumbled across that phrase as I poked around the interweb for some Latin phrases to update my blog. I decided I needed a little something new. If you have questions, check out the ‘what’s with all the latin?’ page. *grin*

Anyway, I think I may have found what I want to get tattooed someday, given that I can move past the whole needle thing. Alis volat propis. I hope that I always fly with my own wings.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. libby permalink
    16 January, 2008 1:07 pm

    Funny, I read the first two sentences and thought, she should get that as a tattoo. Come with me and we can get tattoos together.

    -Bad Idea Bear?

  2. 17 January, 2008 8:38 am

    You are definitely a bad idea bear. LOL

    And maybe. I’m not making any promises, ’cause I’ll likely chicken out.

  3. Josh permalink
    17 January, 2008 9:26 am

    That’s a very you phrase. The funny thing is, before I even saw this entry, I saw the Latin tab and clicked on it. It was then I saw that phrase and thought “that’s very her; I wonder where it is in here.”

    I’m thinking about getting a couple of tattoos too. My first one will be N0JMC, my late father’s call letters from his old radio days. My second one will be something Masonic. I promised that one to a Mason in New York though, so I have to get out there for it.

    I figure I’ll probably chicken out at least once too. 🙂

  4. 17 January, 2008 9:59 am

    I know, right? I really like that phrase.

    Good luck!

  5. Josh permalink
    17 January, 2008 11:34 am

    On second thought, I think your tattoos should say “I know, right?”

    That’s even more fitting. 😉

  6. 17 January, 2008 12:46 pm

    LOL

  7. Amber/Daydreamer permalink
    17 January, 2008 1:25 pm

    My vote for your future tattoo is, “I heart Amber.” No, really. How can you go wrong with that?

    (Honestly, I love yours. It’s beautiful and very much you.)

  8. libby permalink
    17 January, 2008 1:35 pm

    Do you want that for your graduation present?

  9. 17 January, 2008 3:50 pm

    Amber: *giggle* Well, it’s hard to argue with that logic…

    Libby: LOL I thought my pocket constitution was my graduation present!

  10. 23 January, 2008 2:09 am

    that will make a GREAT Tattoo! You should get a tiny butterfly (less tattoo=less pain) then the words around it!!!!

Leave a Reply

