Skip to content

I quit! Oh, wait…

17 January, 2008
tags: ,

Today at work we got these new key cards that we just hold up to the sensor to open the door. This is nice because I will be able to stash it in my purse, and just hold my purse up to unlock the door! 😀

Except, my card was the only one that didn’t work when we tested them. Everyone was around, and I jokingly asked The Supervisor if they were firing me. She said, “Not that I know of.” I said, “okay, I quit then.” We all laughed and she joked that she was going to tell our president that because my card didn’t work, I quit.

God, I wish. The Supervisor is going to be gone 2 weeks in March and then in April is having knee surgery that will put her out for 6 more weeks. The Supervisor’s Assistant is going to have a free for all, and I’m going to die.

Except, how can I go and get another job that I’m just going to have to quit in six months? I can’t. It’s like this place has made me into a recovering addict. My new mantra is “one day at a time.”

9 Comments leave one →
  1. 17 January, 2008 4:17 pm

    Most employers feel zero commitment to you, so why should you feel any commitment to them? Make no mistake about it…they will fire you if they feel the need, and not think twice.
    If you die today (god forbid) they will just replace you, and business will go on as usual. Start looking for another job (its almost more work than having a job) and if you find something you like take it and quit your current one.

    You owe your employers nothing…

  2. Josh permalink
    17 January, 2008 8:14 pm

    I say you come work at Ball. Most people don’t last six months there anyway! Can you lift 90 pounds to shoulder level and climb a ladder 50 times a day?

  3. 17 January, 2008 11:52 pm

    This Ball place sounds…terrible? Sounds like Ball needs to invest in fewer employees and more forklifts.

  4. Josh permalink
    18 January, 2008 8:36 am

    It’s not too bad. Just mind-numbingly boring and way too exhausting.

  5. 18 January, 2008 10:00 am

    crywithme: You raise some good points. I don’t know yet what I’m going to do. I will certainly keep my eyes open for a “perfect” opportunity. Maybe something in a law office.

    Josh: Yeah, I’ll get right on that. *shakes head*

  6. Llama Momma permalink
    18 January, 2008 11:52 am

    I know how you feel my dear…just remember this….

    This job does not define you!! That is what I tell myself all the time! Love you!

  7. 18 January, 2008 2:10 pm

    llama: Thanks my dear. 🙂 Love you too!

  8. 23 January, 2008 2:07 am

    I agree with crywithme. Totally right on. worry about yourself. not them.

  9. Shane permalink
    10 March, 2008 5:44 pm

    You’re lucky your a woman.

    They won’t fire you, they won’t lay you off even though they only have enough work for 1 crew and still have the men for 3 crews. That’s why companies have managers with the only credential of being the biggest ass!*le they’ve ever met.
    Workman’s compensation 0% benefits paid out.
    They never fire anybody and get to be their own little 3rd world dictator.
    As long as the harassment isn’t sexual or racist, they get away with it.

Leave a Reply

