Skip to content

¡qué divertido!*

25 January, 2008

Last night Spanish class was an entertaining diversion from my real-life drama going on right now. For example:

La Profesora (to Libby): ¿Cómo eres tú? [What are you like?]

Libby: Soy morena. [I am a brunette.]

La Profesora (to me): ¿Cómo eres tú? [What are you like?]

Me: Soy ambiciosa. [I am ambitious.]

Libby: You proved it with your answer.

The really entertaining part came later, when I volunteered for something before I knew what it would be. The professor had me stand up to be a character in a story. This is the comedy that ensued… (Oh, and I make no promises about the perfect correctness of my Spanish or the exact conversation. This is a dramatization, and I didn’t get to take notes as this happened.)

La Profesora: Hay un chica. Se llama Melissa. Ella es baja, morena, y intelegente. [There is a girl. Her name is Melissa. She is short, brunette, and intelligent.]

Then of course asked bunches of questions about that to make sure the class understood. Then, she tried  to figure out what was next.

La Profesora: Va al parque. Porque…porque hay un chico. [She is going to the park. Because…because there is a boy.]

Libby: Ella es una esposa. [She is married.]

La Profesora: Ah! Sí, sí. Porque su esposo es en el parque. [Yes, yes, because her husband is in the park.]

So now she recruits one of the two male students to be my “husband.”

La Profesora: ¿Camina muy rápido o muy despasio, clase? [ Does she walk very quickly or very slowly, class?]

La Clase: Muy despasio. [Very slowly.]

La Profesora: ¿Porque, clase? [Why, class?]

Nikki, una compañera (a classmate): Because she doesn’t want to see him.

La Profesora: ¿Ella no quiere conocer a su esposo, porque? [She doesn’t want to see him, why?]

Me: Because she crashed the car?

La Profesora: Sí, es la verdad. Choca con el coche. [Yes, it’s true. She crashed with the car.] 

So here I told my “husband” I crashed with the car, and she asks what he says or does.

Nikki: He…pega. [He hits her.]

La Profesora: ¿Sí, clase?

La Clase: *agrees*

La Profesora: I don’t really like violence, but okay. Le pega a sue esposa. [He hits his wife.] Then what?

Jeremiah, un compañero (a classmate): Uh… corta con tijeras. [Cut with scissors.]

La Profesora: ¡Ella corta a él con las tijeras…que violento! [She cuts him with scissors! How violent!]

Suffice it to say, we were all laughing throughout. I hope the crazy story of car crashes and domestic violence helps some people to remember some Spanish.This even made me forget for a few minutes that the insurance company is planning to total my car. *sigh*

*translation: what fun!    

10 Comments leave one →
  1. 25 January, 2008 12:27 pm

    ¡Ella corta a él con las tijeras…que violento!

    BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!

    I HAVE TO make this one of my taglines.

    *scurry*

  2. 25 January, 2008 12:28 pm

    Done!!!! 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀

  3. 25 January, 2008 12:41 pm

    Poppy: HA!!! That’s great! I’ll keep my eyes open for it. 😀

  4. Llama Momma permalink
    25 January, 2008 2:29 pm

    So…I don’t really speak spanish so I was pretty confused during your post. However…..I did want to say that you need a car that says…I’m a future lawyer…don’t screw with me!

  5. libby permalink
    25 January, 2008 4:05 pm

    Muy Divertido

  6. 25 January, 2008 4:52 pm

    llama: HA! I’ll look into that…

    libby: Es la verdad!

  7. aunt tine permalink
    25 January, 2008 7:50 pm

    That was hilarious and fun to read! Brought back memories! Ask your teacher if she has ever heard of a song called “Vamos a La Playa” (Let’s Go to the Beach). We used to ask our teacher (in h.s.) to play the song every day! It’s awesome.

    Sorry to hear about your car. I had a feeling. ugh
    Guess you get to go car shopping now…is that a good or bad thing? Prolly both.

    Good luck!

  8. 28 January, 2008 1:15 am

    I don’t remember much from high school Spanish but our teacher loved to tell stories like this. The problem was that his stories rarely taught us practical or conversational Spanish.

    To this day I haven’t had to speak to anyone about wolves who love peanut soup. At least it was fun.

    All the best

  9. 28 January, 2008 9:18 am

    aunt tine: The video we always asked for is called “Camarero.” It involves a waiter with a backless tux (he has trunks on), and drinks being served on a giant tortoise. Oh, and great, cheesy 80’s dancing.

    brad: LOL Hey, you never know who you’ll run into…

Trackbacks

  1. Poppy Cedes » And the Poppy award goes to…

Leave a Reply

