Skip to content

this one’s for the girls…

29 January, 2008

As I mentioned before, the Martina McBride concert was amazing. Lady Antebellum opened first, then Jack Ingram played. Both were great, and then Martina took it up about ten notches.

Of course, Mom and I somehow always manage to be sitting near idiots. There was a guy behind me who was eating peanuts, and I kept ending up with peanut shells down the back of my pants. Mom finally turned around and asked him to knock it off. Plus, even when Martina came up on our side of the stage, people wouldn’t stand up. I know we were close and everything but come on! She’s right there! At least stand up and show that you appreciate her music. Or next time, stay at home and rent the DVD of it. You can act the very same way at home for WAY less money.

First, Lady Antebellum played a few songs. They just got a record deal and their album will come out in April. I can’t wait! The founding band members are Hillary Scott (Linda Carter’s daughter), Charles Kelley (Josh Kelley’s brother), and Dave Haywood. I had only heard their one song on the radio, but I enjoyed every song they played. The mixture of a male and a female both on lead is perfect.

Next up was Jack Ingram, who also put on a great show. He did his remake of Hinder’s Lips of an Angel that I liked a whole lot better live than I do on the radio. Plus, he sang this really sweet song about his daughter Ava.

And then…

Martina McBride literally rose out of the stage right next to us. I about peed my pants. We were in the first tier of seats off the floor all the way to the left side of the stage, and right in the front row. They had ramps that came to about three feet from the railing, and she rose out of the one right in front of us.

She put on an AMAZING show, and I would go see her again in a heart beat.

She laughed it up and told us she was feeling feisty that evening, and said that she didn’t know why they’d never been to Ames, but they’d definitely be back again.

Mom and I both cried during “In My Daughter’s Eyes.” She played everything I hoped she’d play too. I even have part of “Broken Wing” on my cell phone as a ringtone now. 🙂

For being so tiny, she can definitely belt it out with her incredible voice.

Then, for her encore, she sang Don’t Stop Believin’ and Hit Me With Your Best Shot. High energy, and well known enough for the audience to sing along. This show definitely deserves a spot in my top five concerts (which is a whole other post in itself!).

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 29 January, 2008 5:10 pm

    Greening with envy over here.

  2. 30 January, 2008 9:23 am

    Aw, Hoss. I didn’t know you were a fan!

  3. lauri permalink
    1 February, 2008 6:38 pm

    Saw the show in Minneapolis last weekend, it was awesome!!!!!. Then saw lady antebellem at an after party thing. Martina came and sang a song. Got to meet her! It was way cool.

  4. 4 February, 2008 1:52 pm

    lauri: How awesome!!

  5. Y-man permalink
    30 March, 2008 9:32 am

    Martina was in Ottawa last night, she gave a superb performance. It was my first Martina McBride show and it will not be my last. Your pictures of her they are quite nice too, I forgot to bring my camera (shame on me) to the show but next time I WILL NOT

    There was no one to put peanuts shells in my pants but there was an idiot answering his email on his Blackberry during the concert…. renting DVD should be an option in more than one place 🙂

  6. 1 April, 2008 2:47 pm

    Y-man: I’m glad you enjoyed the show!!! And people are sometimes so awful, aren’t they?!

Leave a Reply

