Skip to content

school is proving to be rather amusing…

31 January, 2008

Tuesday night in Spanish class, we were learning family vocabulary. Our professor put up some pictures she’d cut from magazines to form a family tree, and she had us name people as we went. Well, when we got to a couple of the kids in a family, she had one that she already called Nacho, and we had to name his sister.

La Profesora: What should her name be?

Me: Julia. (Pronounced hoo-lee-uh)

Libby: *leans over and whispers* It should be salsa.

Me: *breaks into fit of giggles that doesn’t stop for five minutes* Salsa! We should name her salsa.

So she wrote it up on the board and every time we had to answer questions about the kids, it was Nacho and Salsa. *grin*

Then, last night in my capstone seminar I decided to keep track of what our professor talked about for awhile. See, it’s kind of like he has serious ADD. I stopped keeping track after about 20 minutes. Topics covered include:

  • going to a funeral today
  • the experience at hospice
  • death
  • how he wants to die
  • dead animals in buildings (the stench they cause)
  • flooding, and the backing up of a garbage disposal (which apparently is the only smell worse than a dead animal rotting in a building)
  • –brief interlude of school related discussion regarding our electronic profiles–
  • a convicted murderer in Sweden who was accepted to med school but then thrown out

Seriously.

Then, during the student-led portion of our discussion on integrity and how we know what is right and wrong, this happened.

Professor: So why can’t I run around naked? Why don’t I have the right?

Me: Because the law says that you can’t.

Professor: So?

Legal Secretary Mom: Because it could make your teenage daughter want to have sex.

Professor: *turns red* Well, there’s a situation that I don’t want to think about.

Legal Secretary Mom: *laughs* I mean seeing you naked could make my teenage daughter want to have sex.

Professor: That’s an odd compliment…

Legal Secretary Mom: *still laughing* Seeing anyone naked could make my teenage daughter want to have sex?

It was just so funny. Everyone in the room was bursting trying not to laugh, and then he said that was an odd compliment. The room practically exploded.

I guess it’s a good thing that I’m entertained by school, because I am also quite stressed out by it at the same time. I have an overload of work going on right now. Wish me luck!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Libby permalink
    31 January, 2008 1:23 pm

    Great summary of “professor”. Maybe I’ll try to keep track tonight…

  2. 31 January, 2008 1:25 pm

    I love your Spanish class.

  3. 31 January, 2008 2:33 pm

    Libby: LOL I’m sure his wanderings are even better in your class.

    Poppy: Me too! Our professor is so great!

  4. Josh permalink
    1 February, 2008 8:20 am

    I wish I were back in school! Sounds like so much fun! I’ll probably have to finish one class at a time or online though with the financial requirements of kids.

    Good luck, by the way!

Leave a Reply

