Skip to content

that’s not natural…

15 February, 2008

In Spanish class the other night we were looking at children’s books written in…you guessed it! Spanish! Libby and I read The Giving Tree, also known as El Arbol Generoso. Aw. Touching story. *wipes away tear* Seriously, I love that book. And I think I may have to give Libby a copy when (if? kidding, kidding) she graduates. The little “tu y yo” the boy carved into the tree was positively adorable.

I must say I definitely laughed when Libby turned the book over, looked at the author’s picture, and said “That’s a bad picture, Shel” as though he could actually hear her.

What was even better was an Elmo’s World book on food, called Comida!

There was a picture of little veggies, like broccoli and lettuce, and in true Elmo’s World fashion, they had little faces. The line in the book says: “Eh! Esta comida tiene ojitos!” Which translates to “Oh, this food has eyes!”

Maybe you had to be there, but I thought it was the funniest thing ever. Really.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 17 February, 2008 6:08 pm

    I’ve read that book! Only it was in English. Probably ends the same way.

  2. 17 February, 2008 8:30 pm

    awww.. so do you really recommend the arbol book? I need to buy some cool spanish books for my kids.

    BTW.. I can totally picture you laughing your ass off with your buddy over silly stuff. The great part about it is that when you’re with your friends you can embrace your silliness. Set it free.

    *does cartwheels, then does that SUPERSTAR move which stopped being funny years ago but I still think it’s funny everytime I do it. Even though nobody else laughs! tee hee. See there I go again.. *snorts..

  3. 18 February, 2008 10:51 am

    Hoss: LOL Yes, it ends the same way. The really old man sits on the stump, and the tree is happy.

    Norma: Yes! Definitely. It’s really great!

    Hee hee…. I will embrace my silliness, I promise. And I love your superstar moment!

Leave a Reply

