Skip to content

workin’ day and night

19 February, 2008

I am working hard on a scholarship application for Drake Law School. It’s the Public Service Scholarship, and the process is a bit involved. The application is simple, but the supporting documentation is taking a lot of time. I have to submit:

  1. Statement of Purpose (wherein I discuss my commitment to public service and my goals)
  2. Record of Service (any relevant work, volunteer, or internship experience)
  3. Letters of Recommendation (I have two recommenders – a professor of mine and a former supervisor/coworker at my internship)
  4.  Relevant Academic Curriculum (description of classes and how they prepared me for a public interest career)
  5. Additional Information (anything else I deem necessary for the review committee to know – like my schedule of full time work, full time school, my two hour round trip commute, and squeezing in some time for sleep)

The award is full tuition. $27k a year. I need it! It would mean that I wouldn’t have to work during my first year, which is truly my goal. I want so badly to be able to focus on my studies. 

It’s grueling. Seriously. I wanted to get the statement of purpose done first because it’s the longest and the part the pretty much requires the most thought. I know that I want to go into public service. I know why I want to go into public service. I know that I am committed to more than the three years of public interest work that is required in order to get one of the two scholarships awarded. But for some reason I am having a difficult time conveying it in an intelligent, succinct and thorough manner.

And I’ll tell you another thing, helping a recommender write their letter was a very different experience. Have you ever praised yourself through the eyes of another person? It was weird.

Wish me luck!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 25 February, 2008 1:08 am

    I think your talent and dedication is gonna get you there more than luck will. BUT because it can’t hurt and can definitely only help…. I’m sending you tons and tons of positive energy right now! Good luck!

  2. 25 February, 2008 8:41 am

    I hope you’re right, and I so very much appreciate the positive energy!

Leave a Reply

