Skip to content

s-s-so c-c-cold

20 February, 2008
tags: , , ,

It was nine below this morning as I penguin-walked down the ice-encrusted driveway at my father in law’s house to avoid falling on either my face or my butt. It was as though my breath froze in a cloud around my head, fogging over my glasses and making it difficult to see.

I opened the rear driver’s side door of the Alero, and it groaned five times louder than usual. I tossed my things onto the backseat, and slammed the groaning door waiting for the glass in the window to shatter. A brittle piece of ice fell off the back bumper, splintering into shiny little pieces in the morning sunlight. I got into the driver’s seat and started the car, listening to it hesitantly turn over. “I know,” I whispered. “I don’t want to be going out in this weather either.”

My car creaked and moaned the whole way to work, feeling as sluggish as I felt in the freezing morning air. I shivered, waiting for the light to change ahead and watching my breath curl out into the air like smoke. There wasn’t enough time for the temperature gauge to even reach the very bottom measurement of warmth. I slid into my parking space, hoping I would stop before I hit the mammoth snow bank in front of me. Gratefully, I eased the car into park, took a deep breath and went back out into the cold.

And now, I sit at work out of the sub-zero temperatures but I am still chilly. My fingers can’t get warm, despite the flowery words I type. I’m wishing for spring.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Embily permalink
    20 February, 2008 12:43 pm

    Totally hear you on this one. Although my trip to the outside world was completely voluntary (had to get those eyebrows waxed ya know!). My car door wouldn’t shut once it was opened! I had Calvin come out and fix it but then it did it again when I got to town…..ugh. Weather this cold should be outlawed…..can’t wait to go to Phoenix next week! 😉

  2. 20 February, 2008 2:21 pm

    Oh, I’m totally jealous!! 😀

  3. 25 February, 2008 1:06 am

    This is where I complain about how cold I was as well. It dropped under 60 degrees once last week and I forgot my sweater so yeah, I was a tad bit misereable.

    OK, now this is the part where you roll your eyes, take a deep breath and try really really hard to contain yourself from lunging at me and bitch slapping me for complaining about 60 degree weather! 😉

  4. 25 February, 2008 8:44 am

    HA! Oh, Norma. I would kill for 60 degree weather, but I understand. It’s all relative. 😀

Leave a Reply

