Skip to content

on law school

25 February, 2008

I’ve naturally been doing a TON of thinking about law school lately, and where I should go. Drake is obviously the best choice thus far for a number of reasons. It’s the least expensive so far with its scholarship offer (given that I don’t become a Kansas resident). It’s in Des Moines, which is generally where we want to end up. And the deal just got sweeter, because my Dad mentioned splitting the remaining tuition of $9,000 each year three ways with me and my mom. It’ s nothing set in stone as of yet, but I was truly shocked when he brought it up.

In other news, I was accepted to the University of Nebraska College of Law over the weekend. I’m a little discouraged at the fact that there was no information on scholarships in the acceptance packet because I’ve read other applicant’s descriptions and usually it comes together. Oh, well. It was still exciting because I actually got to open this one–Ryan’s been the one to open all of the others!

Money for law school is absolutely a topic that has been on my mind. Am I going to get this Public Service Scholarship at Drake? Oh, I hope so. If not, given my father’s interest in helping me with tuition, will I have to work? I don’t want to work for the first year unless I ABSOLUTELY have to. And even then, the bare minimum. Methinks $2 Turkey Tuesdays at Planet Sub and the cheap lunch specials at Frank’s Pizza will become my friends… Plus, the Coffee Shack has good, cheap hot chocolate and chai. Good thing I’ve scoped out cheap eats in the area. I’m sure that it will all work out okay, but money is definitely a HUGE factor.

Finally, I’ve been thinking a lot about what I’ve been reading online from other law school applicants. There are people who are all about applying to schools that are huge reaches for them, where their numbers are at the very bottom of the accepted pool and high for the rejection pool. My question is, why? I don’t know about you, but I want to give myself every opportunity to excel. I’m not saying that these people absolutely will not excel at their school of choice, but it’s not as likely as placing yourself ahead of the game numbers-wise. But at what point does it not make sense anymore to graduate in the bottom third of your class with $150k in student loan debt? I cannot afford law school unless I get substantial scholarships, so every school I applied to was either way safe, or at the most a target. I would rather be in the top 10% at Washburn than the bottom 25% at Iowa. Maybe that’s just me, though.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 25 February, 2008 4:21 pm

    You are one smart cookie! Trust your gut!

  2. Justine permalink
    25 February, 2008 4:58 pm

    Congrats on another acceptance! And I’m going to be praying for that scholarship, as well as for you not having to work. It would be so nice for you to be able to concentrate on school and life in general! Besides, as I told you before, I want you to stay in DSM too, b/c it’s really all about me and the fact that you’ll still be close to family! hee

  3. 26 February, 2008 8:32 am

    Colsy: *hug* Thank you, m’dear.

    Aunt Tine: Hee hee… Of course!

  4. 6 March, 2008 3:59 pm

    I guess to answer the “why” is that many people do not believe that a higher-than-median LSAT will mean that you will be at or near the top of your class, if LSAT is what you were referring to when you commented about the number game. (And the converse, they believe that being in the 25 percentile of LSAT at a school doesn’t mean you will be at the bottom of your class at that school.) Although, I do understand your comment about getting substantial scholarships from the lower ranked schools. I’m in that same position myself, but there are a lot more people that aren’t I think!

  5. 6 March, 2008 4:02 pm

    tk: You definitely raise a good point. But to some extent prior academic performance and LSAT scores are indicators of performance in law school. Granted, it’s not always the case. At the same time, I feel that if I’m entering at the bottom of my class, it could also be a sort of mental block.

    Good luck determining where you’ll be!

Trackbacks

  1. divine angst » Blog Archive » Weekly Law School Roundup #110

Leave a Reply

