Skip to content

do I look sunshiney to you?

28 February, 2008

I think I’m going to have to murder my husband.*

This new position he’s working in means no more crazy-up-at-three-a.m.-in-bed-by-eight-p.m. hours. Instead, we go to bed and get up at the same time. Let me repeat that last part. We get up at the same time.

Now, if you should know one thing about me to ensure your survival should you spend any extended period of time with me, it’s that I’m not a morning person. At all. It’s not “good morning sunshine” or “rise and shine” with me. It’s more like “if you so much as breathe wrong in my general vicinity I will rip your head off” or “ask me one more question and I will commit one of the hundred acts of murder against you I have thus far imagined during this conversation, like feeding you through a meat grinder while you’re still alive”. And for this, I am unapologetic. It’s just the way I am, take it or leave it.

I don’t sing in the shower. I don’t talk. I don’t laugh out loud at the antics of radio hosts. I get up with just enough time to get ready, and I leave. Sometimes, even after my hour drive I’m not ready to face people.

Anyway, this morning he was too chipper. Just too freaking happy for six a.m. I can’t even recall what he specifically said, but there was smiling and laughter and talking involved. I cannot stand for this. I must rise against the morning cheer, the bright-eyed bushy-tailed-ness of it all. I think I’m going to have to murder my husband.*

*Honey, if you’re reading this (and I’m sure you will), I’m not going to actually murder you. But don’t think that means that I didn’t seriously contemplate it this morning. 😉 Love you!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 28 February, 2008 9:22 am

    I feel you.

    Morning time is QUIET time. Kisses and hugs are ok, but NO TALKING.

  2. 28 February, 2008 9:24 am

    I’ve been awake for many hours, but I’m still not ready to face the day. Morning sucks, man.

  3. Justine permalink
    28 February, 2008 9:59 am

    Although I am a morning person, I don’t expect everyone to be. I am, however, in favor of starting the “Savings Fund for Bail When I Murder My Husband.” That way, we chicks can stick together!

    And hi, Ryan, if you’re reading this too!
    😉

  4. Llama Momma permalink
    28 February, 2008 11:05 am

    I’ve been up since 2:30 and I’m still not ready to face the day! Well…..that could be because I didn’t go to sleep until 11. Who knew little llama would boycotte sleep…..

  5. 28 February, 2008 2:49 pm

    Poppy: EXACTLY!

    Canary: Indeed. There are whole days where I don’t feel ready to face the day.

    Aunt Tine: Heh. SFBWMMH. We should collect donations and have commercials like the Christian Children’s Fund.

    Llama: Aw, poor thing! Tell her sleep is far too important to boycott it!

  6. Amber/Daydreamer permalink
    28 February, 2008 4:04 pm

    HEHEHEEE! I SOOOOOOOOOOOOOO feel you on this one that it’s not even funny. I am just not a morning person at all. I have to set my alarm clock 30 minutes before I HAVE to be out of bed because it takes me that long to start thinking about getting out of bed. I am a total bear in the morning, a fact that my child and husband have come to terms with and deal with by ignoring me and if for some reason they can’t ignore me, then they come at me very cautiously. I prefer it that way.

  7. 28 February, 2008 6:02 pm

    Amber: 🙂 I’m glad I’m not alone. I usually hit snooze one last time and lay there waking up during those few minutes. And then I wake up more in the shower. And then when the cold-ass air hits me as I walk to the car.

    Caution is good. Caution in certainly preferable!

Leave a Reply

