Skip to content

withdrawn

7 March, 2008

I mailed a letter to St. Louis University yesterday withdrawing my interest in a seat for the fall 2008 class. Ryan and I talked, and the cost of living plus the fact that they only offered a 1/2 tuition scholarship means that going to school there would just be too expensive no matter how good their program is.

It’s a strange feeling, withdrawing from schools before I’ve 100% committed to one specific school. I suppose it’s part of the narrowing down process, and the $15,000 they offered me per year can now go to someone who will definitely be attending. At the same time, I don’t know if I’m ready to get rid of all of my options! It’s kind of scary, really.

No word as of yet from Drake about the Public Service Scholarship. The deadline was officially Saturday, so I’m giving it time. Though when I call today to make an appointment to sit in on a class, maybe I’ll ask how that’s coming along…

13 Comments leave one →
  1. 7 March, 2008 10:48 am

    Wow. I commend you on making this really tough decision. Not going to a
    school just because they accepted you, making an intelligent family and
    financial decision, is very wise.

  2. 7 March, 2008 2:14 pm

    Congrats! One down means another step in the right direction. Holla!

  3. 7 March, 2008 3:02 pm

    Poppy: Thank you! It’s so much more difficult than I thought it would be.

    Canary: Exactly! That’s a very good way to look at it!

  4. Justine permalink
    7 March, 2008 3:34 pm

    I’m so glad you’re not moving to Kansas! I would have had to buy you ruby slippers, a dog named Toto, and twister insurance.

    But on a serious note, remember that this is only one of many difficult decisions ahead of you, and you are going to make them all with confidence and pride!

    Go Miss!

  5. 9 March, 2008 8:49 pm

    you GO girl. You’re so grown up making all these grown up decisions. The hardest decision I’ve had to make this past week is, “one muscle relaxer or two?”

  6. 10 March, 2008 7:33 am

    Aunt Tine: SLU is in Missouri, so Kansas isn’t entirely ruled out yet. 🙂 But, it’s mostly ruled out, because I REALLY want to go to Drake.

    Norma: Heh! Thank you!!

  7. Meg permalink
    10 March, 2008 8:40 am

    I know you made a good choice. I’m a recent graduate of a low Tier-2 law school (2007). When I was looking at schools, I applied to DePaul, which was my first choice because of one of their programs, even though it was lower ranked and more expensive than the school I eventually went to. They offered me a $15,000 scholarship, as well, which meant I still had to pay over $13K out-of-pocket (or, more appropriately) through loans and living expenses in Chicago, which was going to break me. I tried to negotiate for more scholarship or grant money, and they told me, “Sometimes we just have to let the better students go.” I was floored and turned them down after having really had my heart set on going there for a long time.

    I ended up at a much better school, paying a lot less. You will end up just as well off, I’m sure! 😉

  8. 10 March, 2008 9:27 am

    Meg: Wow, that’s crazy! You’d think they’d want better students to boost their numbers. Congrats on the recent graduation, and thank you!!

  9. Justine permalink
    10 March, 2008 11:51 am

    Okay, so I’m NOT a geography major. I was getting confused with the Kansas school that you said you would become a resident for more $$. DUH! Perhaps I need to take Twinkie’s advice (and a few muscle relaxers!).

  10. 10 March, 2008 1:27 pm

    LOL No worries!! 😀

  11. 12 March, 2008 12:21 am

    I’ve always though withdrawing is supposed to make you feel better. I just send withdrawals to Drake and John Marshall and it just makes me feel more anxious. Looks like we won’t be classmates after all. Perhaps it’s a good thing. I’m not sure there was room in the 1L class for two bloggers. We would have been competing for the same content.

    All the best
    Brad

  12. 12 March, 2008 9:33 am

    Brad: I know exactly what you mean. It’s definitely made me anxious as well. I hope all goes well for you in deciding where you’ll be attending law school, and you’re probably right–not enough room for two blawgs about Drake! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. divine angst » Blog Archive » Weekly Law School Roundup #112

Leave a Reply

