Skip to content

the joys of car shopping

11 March, 2008
tags: ,

In reading the bazillion reviews online for a car I am considering buying, I have to wonder at the unintelligence of the general populace once again. Over and over, I found myself asking if these people were for real.

Apparently it is a general assumption that everything on a car, whether new or used, will work perfectly 100% of the time. Granted, that would be ideal. However, when you combine as many parts as it takes to make a car, things are bound to go wrong.

Now, that doesn’t mean that it is excusable for a car company to knowingly put vehicles on the road with problems, but people need to seriously relax. I’m not going to jump for joy when something happens to my car, and I may be hesitant to purchase another just like it, but I’m not going to denounce an entire product line or even an entire car company.

Oh, and by the way…if you buy a V8 Supercharged engine, it’s going to get poor mileage, ass.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Llama Momma permalink
    12 March, 2008 9:05 am

    What are you looking at? May I recommend the Hyundai brand and also the Kia brand. Both have a wonderful warranty and are resonably priced.

  2. Llama Momma permalink
    12 March, 2008 9:05 am

    I meant reasonably…..

  3. 12 March, 2008 9:27 am

    Llama: Thanks for the tip! I’m looking at a Pontiac, and it’s used. I want to pay if off before law school starts.

  4. josh permalink
    12 March, 2008 4:56 pm

    Thank you! That was my biggest beef when I worked for Ford. People need to understand that cars are made by people and they have lots of moving parts that realistically will all fail eventually.

  5. 13 March, 2008 1:29 pm

    josh: some people just have zero common sense.

Leave a Reply

