Skip to content

I went to law school this morning.

25 March, 2008

No, really.

I got up like any other morning. I showered. I threw my books in my bag. I drove an hour. And I went to law school. Okay, not exactly. I sat in on a class this morning at Drake! It felt like I was going to law school (well, minus the extremely heavy back pack full of casebooks) and solidified my excitement for it all to begin. Plus, it was actually much less frightening than many authors and current law students have led me to believe.

I sat in on Constitutional Law, which is a subject that interests me greatly. I think it’s the history aspect of things that’s so appealing. Anyway, the professor pretty much lectured like any class I’d ever been in, and then called on volunteers to discuss cases. It ended up that only a couple of students talked. It most likely would have been even more interesting for me had I read the material and been taking notes. Yes, I am a geek.

I attended the class with a girl who is choosing between a couple of schools. She ended up being the same age as me and was really interesting to talk to. Hopefully we end up being classmates. It would be nice to walk in to orientation with a familiar face.

Anyway, while I listened to the professor, I looked around the room quite a bit. Sitting in the back gave the advantage of watching some study habits of these 1L’s who had a semester of law school under their belts. Aside from the occasional checkers of CNN.com or Facebook, people were generally taking notes on their laptops. I paid attention to some layouts and things, and the girl who sat right in front of me had notes that looked about the best. Very organized, and even color-coded. I must say I was disturbed by the one girl who kept copying and pasting case information from wikipedia. Seriously, that is not a reliable source for you to be learning case law from! It’s more of a starting point, chica.

I don’t expect that all classes will be like this one. It is a lot of history and that’s probably why it took more of a lecture format. I’m sure that there are professors who put you on the spot plenty. So really, this only minutely reduced my terror at being caught off-guard and unprepared…

Oh! The lecture was on separation of powers, which is a topic that I find very interesting. The first case that was discussed (actually for a good portion of the class period) was Youngstown Sheet & Tube Co vs. Sawyer. And I remembered that the Supreme Court ruled that President Truman did not have the power to stop the steel strike of 1952. Be impressed! (Hee hee…or not. I just actually retained something from the con law class I took last year!)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 27 March, 2008 3:05 am

    I’ve invested heavily in the Sharpie Multicolor highlighter pack.
    Yellow is facts
    Orange is issue
    Pink is rule
    Blue is rationale
    Green is holding
    Purple is things to lookup

    Copying and pasting from wiki is a waste of time. Any good law student should know both Lexis and West have case briefs for every case, but you can get information from wiki and other online sources about case background issue that the reported opinions lack.

    Anglia v. Reed (Reed was the dad from the brady bunch) Contracts Case
    Peevyhouse v. Garland Coal (The farm has never been fixed, and you can see it on google earth) Contracts Case

    Just a couple I could remember.

    Of all the different case books out there most of the cases in them are the same, so theres all kinds of great background information available online.

    Was that too wordy? Im excited for you. YAY. We just lost another one from my class this week. They say if you make the first year its easy street. I hope so.

  2. 27 March, 2008 9:21 am

    crywithme: I’ve been trying to decide how I will be organizing myself. I have thought about the multipack of highlighters. I can’t say I saw anyone in that class doing it, but it makes sense to me. Do you brief cases in addition to highlighting?

    Interesting cases–that Supreme Court must have been corrupt in Peevyhouse. Crazy!

    No, definitely not too wordy!! I’m excited, too. 🙂

  3. 27 March, 2008 4:13 pm

    Yeah I book brief everything first, then I go back and actually brief the cases which is why it takes so long. I have a few professors who actually ask you to turn in paper briefs occasionally and mark you absent if you dont, so you gotta be prepared, especially if you took time off at the beginning of the semester and now you cant afford more absences…teehee.

    http://www.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&q=stigler,+oklahome&ie=UTF8&t=k&om=1&z=18&ll=35.17465,-95.142851&spn=0.001995,0.005322&iwloc=A

    Thats the link for the peevyhouse sat. picture, but Im going to post the pic on my blog sometime today with stuff circled so you know where everything actually is.

  4. 28 March, 2008 10:47 am

    That makes perfect sense to me. Planet Law School suggested the color coding as a way to avoid actually briefing cases. But to me, I would need to brief it anyway. I’m sure I’ll find a system that works!

    Thanks for the link, and I’ll check out your blog!

  5. Amber/Daydreamer permalink
    28 March, 2008 1:38 pm

    I wish I could do Law School talk with you too. *pouts and gets over it* I’m just happy to listen because it is such a different world from what I live in and you sound so excited!!!! I’m happy for you. Also, I love that you called that girl Chica. Fun fact: I CALL GIRLS CHICA ALL THE TIME!!!! We are alike!!

  6. 28 March, 2008 1:48 pm

    Amber: Hee hee… Just throw some law-related words together. It’ll sound like legalese. Like… The appellate court ruled that the willful tort committed against the marital property deemed the jurisdiction null and void. I’ve found that null and void adds even more credibility. *giggle*

    We are veddy alike, chica. 😉

  7. 1 April, 2008 1:43 am

    I feel so smart after reading this bloggy! I’m going to null and void my dishes now. hee hee. Kidding. I’m actually very proud of you and reading your blog helps me learn new things all the time hence making me feel smart, if only for the moment!

  8. 1 April, 2008 2:51 pm

    Norma: Hee hee… Well, happy to help you out, you know. 😉

Leave a Reply

