Skip to content

some interesting new developments

28 March, 2008

Apparently the 2009 US News & World Report law school rankings are out, and Hamline (the school that offered me a full ride) has jumped from fourth tier to third tier. This is a good thing, in case you don’t know.

I had mentally ruled them out because they were fourth tier.

Plus, Drake has done an absolutely amazing job courting me. I have gotten letters on tons of stuff about the school, from the library to the law clinics to law review. I have been contacted by a current student, by the assistant director of admissions, by a current professor, and by an alum who is now an administrative law judge all by email.

On top of that Washburn upped their scholarship offer another $2,000 a year.

These schools are going to be the death of me.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 30 March, 2008 5:13 am

    And that’s even before you show up on day 1!

    One other thing about law schools vs. career. Some law schools, it stays with you your whole career. A Harvard lawyer is a Harvard lawyer even 20 years from graduation.

    Me? Well, I’m not Harvard, and I haven’t been asked, not in the past 10 years, where I went to law school.

    What’s vastly more important than what law school you went to is how well you did. Summa cum laude at a tier 3 school beats no honors at a tier 2 or even tier 1 school (except Harvard, Yale, Stanford, Penn…you get the idea). Law Review is important.

    So wherever you go, work your behind off. And I’d also volunteer at a local Judge’s chambers. Or do a summer working for a Professor. Often, Professor’s have contacts in the local legal community and can really help you out. Unless, of course, you can get a summer at a firm. You can also volunteer at a local prosecutor’s office. They’re unlikely to turn down free help. being so pressed for resources. And the experience will be helpful.

    Just a thought from an old lawyer.

  2. 31 March, 2008 1:23 pm

    You are going to be legal-social butterfly of the year. Congratulations, Bucky.

  3. aunt tine permalink
    31 March, 2008 3:15 pm

    Just think of it as preparation for what lies ahead. Decisions, decisions, decisions! Congrats on all of the courting! Must make you feel great!

  4. 31 March, 2008 7:10 pm

    Hank is right depending on the job you want. I of course am aiming for summa at my tier 3, (am on track for magna anyway) and am a law reivew editor. Not sure I’ll need these creds in the future but didn’t want to be limited by both my school choice AND my grades (as someone who turned down a top 40 or 30 or whatever…).

    Interning with a judge led to a recommendation which helped get a job. Hank had good advice all around, for an old lawyer. 😉

  5. 1 April, 2008 2:46 pm

    Hank: Thank you so much for all of the advice! I definitely appreciate it, “old lawyer” or not. 🙂

    Hoss: Right!?

    Aunt Tine: I suppose you’re right! Thanks. 🙂

    Butterflyfish: Definitely–my goal is much the same as yours. Excellent grades at a tier 3 will be better than mediocre or poor grades somewhere else. And I’m learning already that it’s all about connections!

Leave a Reply

