Skip to content

ssh…we’re in the eye

9 April, 2008

I would call how I feel right now the calm before the storm, except a week ago at this time I wasn’t so calm. So…this is more the eye of the storm: a few brief moments of sanity and clarity and self-confidence before I once again fall into a heap of self doubt and frustration as I try to get all of my schoolwork done before graduation.

And then there’s getting ready for graduation. I still need to purchase the plates and utensils for the reception. I have to tell my Dad how much beer we’ll need for the bonfire when I don’t even know for sure how many people are coming. I have to pick up my cap and gown. I have to decide what I am going to put “on display” at the reception (diplomas, deans list certificates, etc.). I have to finish my guest book because I thought it would be charming and lovely to scrapbook it all myself. I need to buy pantyhose. I have to attend a student loan exit counseling session. I have to obtain a bazillion signatures on a form so I can even graduate anyway. I have to go to graduation rehearsal. And the honors ceremony. And juggle family when they come into town.

Plus, I’m going to Women in Law Day at Drake on April 19th, which means that basically a whole Saturday is gone.

So, in the next three weeks things are going to get crazy. I’m not really sure when, but I know that it won’t take long. The prediction for hurricane Lisslo is right about Saturday, the benchmark for 14 days to go. Watch out now!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 11 April, 2008 10:29 am

    The good thing is that a lot of those are one time meetings! A simple appt! And then they are done! Besides, don’t they sell panty hose in the dairy aisle now?

  2. 14 April, 2008 8:37 am

    Yes, this is true. All of it.

Leave a Reply

