Skip to content

be the duck

17 April, 2008

It’s a funny little phrase that my mom uses to remind me that I can make it through just about anything, including working in this crazy place another three months, two weeks and one day, or pushing myself through the mountains of homework that all seemed to come due at the same time.

So if I feel like crying because the pressure is building up as I sit here and listen to the phone ring because it’s ANOTHER call for me and I think about the one small part I have left to finish my portfolio that is due TONIGHT and I realize that the stupid cold sore on my lip from all this stress is bleeding AGAIN and I contemplate how I’m going to whip out a ten to fifteen page paper about ganster film by next week and I kick myself for agreeing to go to Drake Women in Law Day because I got an email yesterday saying there would be a mock class AND THEY GAVE ME HOMEWORK FOR IT–no kidding, I have to brief a case because the professor might call on me and I think about the fact that I’m going to have tons of family in town next weekend but don’t know if I can spend very much time with them and even if I wanted to they can’t come to my house because it’s FILTHY…

Well, you get the picture. All I have to do is think of what my mom would say:

“Be the duck, dearheart. Let it all roll off your back and keep moving.”

I love my mom.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 17 April, 2008 3:38 pm

    And they stick their butts out at people too!

  2. 17 April, 2008 3:42 pm

    my mom always told me…

    make lemonade 🙂

    Here’s to a better day! Amie

  3. 17 April, 2008 3:48 pm

    Colsy: I’m sure it’s a useful trait in some situations. *giggle*

    Amie: That’s a good one too, and thank you!

  4. 17 April, 2008 11:46 pm

    My mom always slapped me and said, “you want something to cry about? I’ll give you something to cry about!!!”

    BUT I must say, I LOVE “Be the duck.”

    LOVE IT!!

  5. 18 April, 2008 8:26 am

    Well, you know…whatever works, right?

    😉

  6. 21 April, 2008 1:07 am

    teee heee

Trackbacks

  1. take time to realize this all can pass you by* « terra nullius

Leave a Reply

