Skip to content

the obligatory graduation 2008 post

29 April, 2008

We started the long day on Saturday by decorating for the reception that would take place later. Luckily, my father in law works at a lovely company that lets its employees and their families use their cafeteria for free. No more venue nazis! The decorations turned out lovely.

We booked it to the ceremony downtown at HyVee Hall. James rode with me and graciously carried stuff and even guarded my purse for me. What a sweet heart. ๐Ÿ™‚ Anyway, after standing around in too much polyester for what seemed like forever, I got diplomatized. Or diploma-coverized. (My real diploma comes 6-8 weeks from now when all my grades are in and analyzed properly. Or somesuch.)

I was happy for it all to be over and for the party to begin!

So Ryan and I booked it out to the reception after the ceremony was over, and I worked the room. I felt like I didn’t have much time to talk to anyone, but I did get some pictures with a few people.

I didn’t get a chance to sit down and eat any of the fruit we got. I just had three glasses of punch which really was more like one and a half glasses because I kept setting my cup down and losing it. I still had lots of fun, though! We had a great turnout of both family and friends, and everyone was really generous with their gifts.

At the end of the day, we released the balloons (I know, environmental hazard…but it was kind of cathartic). Brandon wasn’t too sure about it, but he said “bye, bye” to them and it was okay. I made a wish as they floated away, and hopefully it’ll come true.

After that, we changed clothes. (I wore DRAKE STUFF!) We ran to the store and bought some booze for the bonfire, where the clerk thought we were headed to the Drake Relays. Easy to make that mistake considering the fact that we bought 3 cases plus some other frou frou drinks. We got it to Dad’s house and safely into some ice.

Needless to say, there is still plenty of beer left over. Come and get some, please!

We turned around to see the HUGE pile of wood, brush, and scrap that Dad has been saving for like…oh, 3 years or so. It was clear that it was going to be quite cozy once the fire started going.

And it definitely was toasty!

I may or may not have gotten camera happy with the door that was on the pile…

We had hot dogs and smores (WITHOUT PEANUT BUTTER, LARSONS!). It was fun trying to get close enough to the fire to cook the hot dogs but not burn your skin off. My dad found a pretty good method.

James…did not.

The house looked like it was on fire because of the reflection in the living room windows. I thought this was freaking awesome…but Dad didn’t much like the idea of his house on fire. Not sure why.

And I got camera happy yet again…

It did start raining but for awhile the fire evaporated the sprinkles enough to keep us mostly dry. The wind picked up a bit and made it chilly, but the brave ones hunkered down.

Eventually it started raining harder and the fire couldn’t keep up. The crowd dwindled, and we headed home. After sleeping in late on Sunday, I opened all of my cards to realize that my family and friends were so generous that I have enough to buy myself a new laptop for law school PLUS buy my books for the whole first year. Wow.

And…Ryan gave me my iPod. Shiny + New = Happy Girl!

Overall, it was an amazing weekend. Hugs and kisses to all who could be there, and to all who couldn’t but still thought of me that day. Now I’m ready to move on to law school. Drake, here I come!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. tfaux permalink
    29 April, 2008 12:37 pm

    Wer you perchance a bit tipsy Saturday night??

  2. 29 April, 2008 2:15 pm

    Only a bit. Nothing serious. I was too tired to drink too much!

  3. 29 April, 2008 4:21 pm

    What an incredible day!

    BTW, I love the door too.

  4. 29 April, 2008 4:32 pm

    It really was Colsy!!

    I took a bazillion pictures of it, but decided only to save the very best ones.

  5. 30 April, 2008 12:50 am

    OMG OMG OMG… the day was finally here. THE DAY. And it has been a helluvah ride. I’m glad I was able to witness some of it and live it vicariously through your blog posts.

    HUGS and more hugs. I’m soooo excited for you.

    *sidenote.. love that picture of you and the iPod. Genius!

  6. 30 April, 2008 10:03 am

    Norma: ๐Ÿ™‚ THE DAY, yes. I’m glad to have shared all of the things I have with you. *hugs* Thank you!

    (And thanks about the photo, too!)

  7. Amber/Daydreamer permalink
    30 April, 2008 3:07 pm

    Aww, Liss! I am so proud of you and so happy for you too! Congratulations on a very huge accomplishment! With more to come! Now, go get them!

  8. 1 May, 2008 4:28 pm

    Amber: *hugs* Thanks! ๐Ÿ˜€

  9. 18 May, 2008 4:25 am

    Happy graduation!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. 19 May, 2008 9:04 am

    Thanks, neo!

Leave a Reply

