Skip to content

torn

30 April, 2008
tags:

As I look ahead to law school, I must ask myself just how much I intend to blog (and what exactly about). At this point, any semblance of anonymity is gone. People will be able to google my name and my school’s name and find this site with ease. So that ultimately leads me to the question of maintaining this blog versus starting over anonymously.

I would love to start over, but that would mean losing my readership because I probably wouldn’t tell you where I was going in order to maintain that anonymity. On the other hand, if I blog about school here, that could cause potential problems for me down the road. Yes, I’ve blogged about classmates but I’ve had to be terribly careful. In a section of seventy people it will be much more apparent who I am talking about.

What to do?

17 Comments leave one →
  1. 30 April, 2008 1:54 pm

    Hmm… That is problematic, indeed.

    What if you just email your readers to notify us of the new location?

  2. 30 April, 2008 2:30 pm

    Actually, I could do that. The only problem is still maintaining anonymity, though. No one could call me liss or lisslo because someone could catch on that those could be short for Melissa. Maybe I will have to come up with a new nickname or something. And then make this blog private so no one could connect the dots that everyone who commented here is now commenting at my new blog. Hm.

  3. Amber/Daydreamer permalink
    30 April, 2008 3:01 pm

    I think you have the answer already.

    1.) E-mail your readers to notify them of your new spot.
    2.) Make it clear to them that you want anonymity so that they don’t use your name.
    3.) Come up with a nickname that we can call you. I offer Sweetcheecks. But you probably want something more original.
    4.) Make it private, like Cols blog is now.
    5.) You can moderate your comments just in case someone (probably me) has an “Amber” moment and revels something personal on their comment, like your name.
    6.) DO IT! Because I need to keep up with your law school shennagians.

  4. Aunt Tine permalink
    30 April, 2008 3:33 pm

    Don’t leave us!! Okay, so the other option is to NOT blog about law school. But really, is that an option? Hmmm….how about Tina Turner as your nickname? You used to do a mean rendition of “What’s Love Got To Do With It?”
    😉

  5. 30 April, 2008 3:47 pm

    Eschew annonymity — though you may keep your real name and law school off the blog so you can be more google proof to employers. You can just edit old posts to accomplish that. Blog openly and refrain from blogging anything about a classmate you wouldn’t say to his or her face, and never call professors by their names (Professor Crim).

    Words of wisdom from someone who was found out, restarted, and was found out again. My blog is less fun but safe int eh long run.

    See http://www.threeyearsofhell.com/archive/000287.php

  6. tfaux permalink
    30 April, 2008 3:48 pm

    Can I still call you llama?? Please don’t leave!!

  7. 30 April, 2008 6:02 pm

    I think Butterfly Fish has the best advice.

  8. 30 April, 2008 6:10 pm

    Go private 😉
    All you need is your readers log in name 😉

  9. 30 April, 2008 10:45 pm

    I was concerned about this as well. While I haven’t given out my name or posted a picture, I’ve revealed a lot of unique info about myself, and that, combined with being one of the few black women that will be in c/o 2011, it wouldn’t be too hard to figure out who I am once classes start.

    I don’t want to start over, and I don’t think you should too. Maybe take out your real name if its posted anywhere on here. If you really feel the need to gripe about certain folks or classes or issues, you could always set up a secondary blog that has limited access or one that has a lot less info about you and where you go to school.

    I have a second journal that is friends-only somewhere on the internets where I really let it all out and I’m sure I’ll be using it a lot in law school when there is just something I gotta say.

  10. 1 May, 2008 1:23 am

    Please don’t go girl! Pleasssseeeeeee. I already lost Colsy. Don’t leave me now! 😦

  11. 1 May, 2008 12:19 pm

    Amber: Sweetcheeks. Heh.

    Aunt Tine: HA! Thanks for sharing that with the internet. Seriously, though…I even CRIMPED MY HAIR to get the right effect.

    butterflyfish: Hm. Thanks for the tips. That’s so true… What I’m truly thinking about is making this blog private altogether and starting a new one. That will eliminate all of that work of having to go back and scrub all of my posts.

    llama: Of course you can still call me llama if I do what I’m thinking about.

    Hoss: I think you’re right.

    Colsy: Well, I thought of that. But that limits any new readership too. Part of the appeal of blogging about law school is to commiserate with others going through the same thing.

    TK: That’s a good idea, too. Hm… Lots of thinking to do!

    Norma: No worries, wherever I go you will know. *hugs*

  12. 1 May, 2008 1:11 pm

    Check out jo(e)’s blog. She uses pseudonymn’s for everyone and everything. She posts a lot of pictures but always makes sure to have the face covered. http://writingasjoe.blogspot.com/

  13. 1 May, 2008 2:20 pm

    Thanks, Colsy. That’s an interesting idea!

  14. 5 May, 2008 10:29 am

    I know that I purposefully created a new blog for my law school life. I’ve watched too many law student friends regret blogging because they didn’t want someone reading their posts. Let us know what you decide! I’ve enjoyed reading your blog and linked to it as well.

  15. 5 May, 2008 11:11 am

    I definitely will, Kel. Thanks!

  16. 5 May, 2008 11:28 am

    I have started to wonder about the same thing. I don’t have that many readers, but I definitely plan to blog about law school it’s easy to connect the dots and come up with my name and site. An anonymous site might be a good choice.. hard though.

  17. 5 May, 2008 12:23 pm

    It’s definitely going to be interesting either way. And hard either way–one way there is no blogging about specifics at school at all, while the other way someone could find me out if they really wanted to. That part doesn’t bother me quite so much. If someone really wants to figure it out they can, but most people would never even find the blog in the first place if I kept my real name and school name out of it.

Leave a Reply

