Skip to content

looking forward

2 May, 2008

Now that graduation is over and my grades are out of my hands, I can begin to truly look forward to the fall. In less than three months, I will be done with my non-law job and I won’t have to look back. We will be going through all of our stuff, packing up and moving soon. And I will (hopefully) not have to work at all come fall in order to completely focus on what is most important: law school.

That prospect is both terrifying and exhilarating all at the same time. I’m sure that both anticipation and anxiety will continue to grow throughout the summer as I read books and prepare myself for my first year. According to legend, “The first year they scare you to death.”

The crazy thing? I look forward to this rite of passage in some unexplainable way. Maybe that makes me a masochist (see definition 3), but it really seems like one big test. To me, that is exactly what the first year of law school is for–if you can make it through that, you might actually be cut out to be an attorney. Everything I’ve read and heard has thus far prepared me for an experience unlike any other and unprecedented levels of stress.

And I say…bring it on! I am sure that at some point, not far from the first day of classes, I might change my mind about it. I will probably be crying uncle by mid-September, but I am excited at the prospect of a new intellectual challenge. I know that it is going to be the hardest thing I have ever done–that I will work the hardest I ever have to maybe end up in the middle or at the bottom of my class. I might cry. I might sweat. I might lose sleep. But if that’s what it takes to be a lawyer, I’ll do it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 3 May, 2008 12:29 pm

    I bet there is a masochist club there.

  2. 5 May, 2008 9:36 am

    Heh. I bet you’re right. 🙂

  3. 5 May, 2008 11:24 am

    Great blog. I’m looking forward to reading more. I have worked six years since graduating college and am also starting law school in fall. I am very much looking forward to re-entering the academic environment and in a strange way cannot wait to see if the many stressful life experiences I have had in recent years have been good preparation for a stressful academic experience. I have heard crazy things about being a 1L, and I’ll admit I’m really excited to experience it for myself. I’m guessing I also won’t feel that way by the time fall rolls into winter in Wisconsin though…

  4. 5 May, 2008 12:13 pm

    laura: Thank you! I wish you all the best! If I go underground I will provide a means to contact me to find my new digs. I hope all goes well for you, and stay warm in the Wisconsin snow!

Leave a Reply

