Skip to content

a new way to organize my chaos

13 May, 2008

Sorry for my unexpected absence yesterday, but tell it to my monster headache and body aches. I just did not feel well at all, so it was no work and no internets for me.

Which is too bad, really. Because I have a shiny new toy to play with!

No obligatory Dude! I got a Dell! jokes, please.

I needed a laptop for law school, and I was lucky enough to finance it through gifts from my graduation. The pattern is called Chill…maybe it will serve as a reminder to me to just relax a little when I’m stressed out. Or maybe not.

I’ve also enjoyed learning how to use OneNote. On Sunday I stole a bunch of Mom’s recipes and put them in my personal notebook. I am hoping to use it to take notes instead of Word, but I need to learn it inside and out first. It doesn’t make sense to be learning how to use my laptop while trying to learn in law school. 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. libby permalink
    13 May, 2008 1:24 pm

    Cool comp dude. Guess what I got…you never will. An I pod! I’m scared of it.

  2. 13 May, 2008 1:42 pm

    I NEVER would have guessed! 🙂 Don’t be scared. iPod’s are fun!

  3. 13 May, 2008 1:47 pm

    Very cool!!! Congrats!

  4. 13 May, 2008 1:55 pm

    😀 Thanks, Poppy!!

  5. tfaux permalink
    13 May, 2008 2:50 pm

    I like it!! What is OneNote? I will hopefully be in the market for a new comp soon….if the business takes off that is.

  6. 13 May, 2008 3:11 pm

    llama: It’s a Microsoft Office program that allows you to pull information from all kinds of sources–Word, the internet, Outlook, etc–and organize it all in one place. Hopefully you’ll be in the market soon, then! 🙂

  7. firstday permalink
    13 May, 2008 5:15 pm

    Ooooooh pretty. But fair warning, it may cause you to get called on more as it is likely to catch the Prof’s eye as he scans the room looking for victims 😉

  8. 14 May, 2008 8:29 am

    firstday: Eek! 🙂

  9. 14 May, 2008 9:55 am

    Oh – toys are fun… I am going to need a new laptop for school. Not at all sure how I am going to pay for it yet, but have fun setting yours up!

  10. 14 May, 2008 9:56 am

    Oooh…pretty!
    See if it has a video camera, then you can record your professor during difficult lectures 😉

  11. 14 May, 2008 10:46 am

    laura: Definitely! Good luck funding your purchase. 🙂

    Colsy: Thanks! Yes, it does have a video camera. We played with it on Mother’s Day a bit. It would be nice to be able to record lectures or even guest speakers.

  12. praxist permalink
    18 May, 2008 12:38 pm

    Hey,

    Shiny new toy looks real nice, but back up your important files like crazy to avoid the ‘day before curse’.( okay so I made that one up, but I have seen way too many people having problems with their laptops just the day before the great final/project/presentation to not believe in it 😉

    One note is a real cool application. Too bad we have to many old school professors who frown on laptop usage during lectures…Okay so the fact that people were caught watching ‘Dude, where’s my Car?’ during one such lecture doesn’t help. 😀

    I hear you are starting law school and as your ‘fellow wayfarer’ I hope you don’t mind that I have rambled on without a real introduction.

  13. 19 May, 2008 9:04 am

    praxist: Ha! I know better than to not back things up. Thanks, though. I guess I can’t blame professors for wanting to restrict such a distraction! 🙂

    And I don’t mind at all. 🙂

Leave a Reply

