Skip to content

and one sweet tone to soothe*

14 May, 2008

Last night I headed out to the Val Air Ballroom to see Colbie Caillat with my friend Patrick.

We had a lot of fun, mainly because our sense of humor and tendencies toward misanthropy are so similar. We chatted a bit outside while we waited for the doors to open and then some more when we got inside. As we stood there for what felt like forever waiting for the show to start, we couldn’t help but notice that the house music was alternating between John Mayer and Norah Jones. That’s it. Over and over, the cycle continued. I could never hate Norah Jones and still found myself humming along even though I was slightly annoyed. But now? I pretty much want to stab my ears with a sharp object when I hear John Mayer’s voice.

The opening act was a guy named Trevor Hall. He was…unique. For the most part, it was just him and a guy sitting on a box who used various items for percussion instruments. There was a good beat, but the guy did weird things with his voice that grated on me a bit.

Then it was time for more Norah Jones and John Mayer for awhile while they got the stage reset. I thought it was a little odd that they were putting down carpets, but that was explained later when the whole band kicked off their shoes and played the show barefoot!

While we were waiting these twelve-year-old girls decided that they were going to crowd up to the are where Patrick and I were standing. I’d left a little bit of space between me and the guy in front of me because he was about a head and a half taller than me, and standing right behind him wasn’t exactly conducive to seeing the stage. The girls wanted to stand in front of us in that space (which wasn’t big enough for them) because “they couldn’t see.” Hello? I’m 5’6″ and the guy that they suddenly wanted to get cozy with is at least 6″. I told them no, that they wouldn’t be able to see there, either. Then they’d be moving around, straining to see, and I wouldn’t be able to see either. Forget it.

Finally, Colbie came out on the stage and started her show.

Her voice is absolutely lovely, and I adore her music. She’s a very laid back performer. She didn’t lack energy, but the feel of her music is a little off for a standing audience. I think her style is more suited to relaxing at a table and just taking in her music.

She even busted out a ukelele.

And here’s the barefootedness!

After awhile, I felt too warm so we headed to the back and I got some water. Much better. We could actually breathe, and we could still see the stage all right.

It was a good show. I’m glad I didn’t spend a ton of money for the tickets because of the aforementioned discrepancy between the feel of the show and the style of the concert itself. Overall we had a good time, though!

*lyric from Tailor Made by Colbie Caillat

6 Comments leave one →
  1. tfaux permalink
    14 May, 2008 2:40 pm

    do you know that just the other day it dawned on me who Libby was. Hi Libby!! Sorry I didn’t realize who you were at llama’s party!

  2. 14 May, 2008 2:48 pm

    LOL Llama, you’re so silly. 🙂

  3. Aunt Tine permalink
    14 May, 2008 2:48 pm

    SOOOOOOOOOOOOO jealous! Glad you had a good time!

  4. 14 May, 2008 2:58 pm

    Aunt Tine: Thanks! Don’t be jealous, it’s your birthday!

  5. libby permalink
    15 May, 2008 10:40 am

    Hi! It’s okay.

    Looks like you and Pakman had a good time at the concert.

  6. 15 May, 2008 10:44 am

    Yes, Pakman and I did have a good time. You will definitely have to share his new nickname with him tonight. He’ll be THRILLED. LOL

Leave a Reply

