Skip to content

three months

19 May, 2008

Over the next three months, I will experience change. We will (hopefully) be selling our home and moving to a new one. I will no longer have a non-law-related job. Both of those things are pretty big when you consider the effect they will have on my life.

And then, three months from today, an even bigger change will occur. I will go to law school. My entire existence will be focused on studying and learning. I haven’t had that luxury since I was eleven years old. From the time that I was eleven until I was fifteen, my family owned a roller skating rink in Winterset. I worked there EVERY weekend playing music, selling candy and pop, reshelving skates, and teaching lessons. After we sold the place, I worked various jobs around town–sometimes more than one at a time. When I graduated high school, I started working full time. When I went back to college, I still worked between 25 and 35 hours a week, until 2005 when I started working full time again at my current job.

I have worked for more than half of my life. The idea of NOT working seems so foreign to me. In fact, I feel nearly as anxious about that as I do about starting law school itself. Then again, I can’t really complain. I consider myself pretty lucky to have such a worry.

Three months. Honestly? I can’t wait.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. libby permalink
    19 May, 2008 4:08 pm

    Just reading your post give me that nervous feeling. It’s so exciting yet scary at the same time! I know you’ll do great, and I can’t wait to have you in town!

  2. 20 May, 2008 8:10 am

    You said it! Thank you! 🙂

  3. Aunt Tine permalink
    21 May, 2008 8:51 am

    Yahoo for you! It must be a strange feeling, but you will soon grow to love it and immerse yourself in school. I felt the same way when I took two months off when Shaelin was born. I’ve worked since I was 14, and I wasn’t quite sure what I was going to do with myself. Shaelin had other ideas! 😉

    The best part is, you deserve this “break” from work, and you’ll do so much better in school because of it!

  4. 21 May, 2008 9:19 am

    I think you’re absolutely right–it is a good choice all around. Even if it means I don’t get to buy every CD I want as they come out or that new shirt I saw and so on and so forth. It will be worth it in the end!

  5. Aunt Tine permalink
    21 May, 2008 2:18 pm

    And you can buy as many damn CDs as you want when you become a big-time lawyer! Heck…you can buy the band! (Or at least represent them and get free stuff.) *wink*

  6. 21 May, 2008 3:01 pm

    Heh. 🙂

Leave a Reply

