Skip to content

thankful, but seriously.

5 June, 2008

We’ve had a lot of severe weather in the midwest of late, including an EF-5 tornado that leveled half the town of Parkersburg in northern Iowa. Last night there were mulitple storms that rolled through, producing multiple touchdowns about 30 miles to the south of us.

Which most would think is fine, but was only 15 miles south of my dad’s house and even closer to my mom’s house at various time. It doesn’t take much for storms to change course, but luckily these were so powerful and ingrained that they continued on the path they had been traveling on. I’m thankful that no one in our families was hurt or sustained any property damage.

That said, I am exhausted. We had several calls from family making sure that the storms were far enough south to not have done any damage at our home. Our NOAA weather radio is set to go off for mulitple counties around us so that we have plenty of warning, and boy was it busy last night. My sister in law called really late to ask Ryan about water coming into her basement. There was thunder, lightning, strong wind and pelting rain and hail for a good hour or more. I. Couldn’t. Sleep.

Seriously, mother nature. I need my rest. And I am very discouraged by the fact that there is more risk for the rest of today and yet again tonight for severe weather here. We’re good, thanks.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Llama Momma permalink
    5 June, 2008 11:33 am

    I hear you!! I’m wiped too. Glad you are safe though!

  2. 5 June, 2008 5:48 pm

    Holy Cannoli. I just say what I always say when tornados come into Arkansas, ‘Blame Oklahoma.’

  3. 9 June, 2008 11:00 am

    Llama: Me too!

    Colsy: Hee hee…

Leave a Reply

