Skip to content

lesson learned

18 June, 2008

I have this problem. I don’t know if I’m the only one out there who is getting ready to start law school in the fall who cannot stop thinking about school and school-related things. I keep wondering which of the two sections I will be assigned to, how much my books will cost, who my professors will be, who will be in my section, about finding a perfect study spot in the law library and the workload to come. Not to mention living arrangements for the next year, which is a huge topic in and of itself. I’ve been checking the school’s website fairly compulsively for any further information about section assignments and fall orientation. I’ve been searching realty sites, apartment sites, and Craig’s list.

In an effort to quell that burning thinking and wondering that sometimes keeps me awake at night, I’ve been reading the pages and pages of posts over at Law School Discussion. I’ve noticed something: there seems to be a rather large proportion of what I affectionately deem “douchebags” that participate in the discussions.

You know the type. The ones who bag on everyone and every school that isn’t Harvard, Yale, or Stanford. The ones who insist that if you don’t go to a top 14 school, you’ll never get a job and ohmygodyourlifewillendupongraduation. The ones who troll around and insult other people for fun, chasing them through threads and pestering people to their breaking points.

Now, I don’t know that these people are even really law students, but I suspect that they are. I suppose that I will have to prepare myself for in-person douchebagness based on the sheer number of said idiots who patrol the message boards. At least it’s a lesson learned BEFORE I actually get to law school.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. libby permalink
    18 June, 2008 1:14 pm

    That’s is odd, especially when you consider the stellar reputation of lawyers…

  2. Aunt Tine permalink
    18 June, 2008 2:43 pm

    I have the same obsessive thoughts about having this next baby…
    –When/how will I go into labor?
    –How long will my labor last?
    –Will I deliver vaginally or have a c-section? (sorry to the squeamish)
    –What will he look like?
    –What are we going to name him?
    –What will we do with Shaelin while we’re at the hospital?
    –How can my heart grow bigger to love another child?
    –When the hell will I lose the baby weight?

    You get the idea. My point is, whatever’s going on in your life is what you will obsess about. I think it’s better than not giving a crap and not fully investing yourself in something so important. So obsess away, my dear!
    😉

  3. 18 June, 2008 6:11 pm

    Those are the people who don’t actually work for their degree. They just figure that they should be lawyers because their mouths are bigger than their d!$ks.

  4. 19 June, 2008 8:20 am

    libby: Heh.

    Aunt Tine: You’re pretty much spot on–no matter what the major event is, I will obsess. ‘Tis in my nature.

    Colsy: *huge grin* Um, exactly!!

  5. 19 June, 2008 10:01 am

    libby – LOL

    Liss – I read lawschooldiscussion.org all the time too, and, well, I am now preparing to hate a lot of my classmates, and to vent about it on a new anonymous blog that is already being set up. I can’t believe how obnoxious and obsessed with themselves some of these people seem. I also can’t believe the hatred for all schools besides the top few, and the condescension. Yeah, I feel ya.

  6. lawstudentjane permalink
    19 June, 2008 12:59 pm

    I have to say that I agree with laurafern. I cannot understand the elitism that is so prevalent.

  7. 19 June, 2008 1:29 pm

    laura: It’s ridiculous, isn’t it? I hope that I never come across that way. If I do, you have my full permission to SHOOT ME.

    jane: Exactly! They have this attitude that if you’re not top-whatever, you’re nothing.

  8. 19 June, 2008 2:41 pm

    Haha, I haven’t heard of law school discussion…that might be addicting.

    The Barron’s Book is VERY helpful. It breaks down how to brief cases and outlining as well as any other topic you can think of (classmates, teachers, study groups, etc.) I’m already briefing cases for practice.

    Before starting the Barron’s book I read Scott Turow’s “One L” which basically is a Harvard 1L horror story/autobiography. Makes things seem worse than they actually will be but it was a good read.

    After the Barron’s book I’m going to read “Getting to Maybe” which focuses specifically on law school exams I’ve already skimmed it, and it’s pretty detailed.

    I think I’m going to stop the prep reading after Getting to Maybe, because it might become counterproductive. I’ll continue briefing cases for practice though.

    And about the Harvard/Yale/Stanford kids…well, those kids may be guaranteed jobs, but I think if you do well at even the worst school you’ll get hired at a comparable firm – so I wouldn’t worry about it.

  9. 19 June, 2008 11:19 pm

    Luckily, LSD is not an accurate reflection of law school. You’ll meet a lot of great folks. some of whom you will stay in touch with for the rest of your life.

    Sure, there will be a few that get on your last nerve and the high stress environment can bring out the worst in people, but it’s nowhere as bad as the forums make it sound. All the best!

  10. 20 June, 2008 8:12 am

    dennis: Excellent–thank you for the head’s up. I was planning on reading Getting to Maybe, but I hadn’t seen the Barron’s book. And yes – LSD is definitely addictive. Which is why it’s amusing that the acronym is LSD…

    Benson: You definitely raise a good point. I should remember that the people who use LSD are not representative of the entire law student population. Thank you!

  11. 20 June, 2008 12:46 pm

    I think about the same things. Found the housing using Craig’s list-so that much is taken care of. But I worry about not finding a study group, what my profs will be like, what section and schedule I’ll have. I totally know how you feel. And I hate how degrading top 14 law students are.

  12. 20 June, 2008 1:47 pm

    Kim, I’m glad I’m not alone. I’m using Craig’s list too, so hopefully I’ll have some luck!

  13. 24 June, 2008 12:26 am

    don’t forget that the anonymity of the internet allows for people to live out their “alter egos” and therefore these douchebags could probably be the nicest people in the world who actually don’t even go to school at all AND they are posting from a Starbucks on their work break.

  14. 24 June, 2008 1:14 pm

    Twinkie – that is a funny thought!

    I don’t know, I think some people are just that obnoxious. It’s sad, and yeah, I agree, I should tell a few key people in my life that if I ever become that horrible to slap me across the face.

  15. 24 June, 2008 1:15 pm

    Norma: You could be right!

    Laura: LOL Me too! I hope I’m never that awful.

  16. 24 June, 2008 6:32 pm

    It is my understanding, after reading Tucker Max, that so many of these “douchebags” that willfully, yet involuntarily spew out their douchebaggery, are somehow blessed with the wit that somehow gets them through law school.

    See for yourself; http://www.tuckermax.com/

  17. 25 June, 2008 8:46 am

    Wow. What a moron. I don’t even know what to say, and I’ve only read the sushi pants story.

  18. 29 June, 2008 9:27 pm

    @Kel – not all T14 students are douchebags! Not even all the ones on LSD (though all the ones who ARE douchebags do seem to be on it).

    Liss – seriously, people on that site are full of crap. My mom graduated from a “TTT” state law school (without being top 10% or law review) and she’s had a great and interesting career doing the kind of law she’s passionate about. Other people I know have graduated from top schools and spend 80 hours a week doing mindless doc review for Skadden. The difference — she went to law school for good reasons, not just for the promise of a high salary.

  19. 30 June, 2008 8:58 am

    Gwen, thank you for the encouraging words!!! I hope that my experience will be as positive–I’m not going because I want to make bank. I’m going because I want to help people.

  20. Jenni permalink
    7 June, 2009 8:44 pm

    I just stumbled upon your blog and am with you on the obsessing over law school and all things related. I think I’ve had three books from the library and own two or three of my own re: how to prepare. I own the “Getting to Maybe” book but want to check out the Barron’s book. Where are you attending? I’ll be in St. Louis. Looking forward to it, but dreading the next three years at the same time.

  21. 9 June, 2009 7:29 pm

    I am at Drake in Des Moines, and I love it. Don’t get me wrong – it’s a lot of hard work. But to me, it’s worth it. Take everything you read with a grain of salt – much of it is useful, but some of it just won’t apply to you. Everyone is different. Good luck to you Jenni!

Leave a Reply

