Skip to content

one last way to get my money

30 June, 2008

Last week, in order to fulfill all of the documentation requirements for my law school, I requested an official copy of my transcript to go from Grand View to Drake. This cost me five dollars, which I didn’t balk at too much. I decided I also wanted a copy for myself, so I paid an additional three dollars to have them send me a student copy.

On Friday, I was delighted to find a big cardboard envelope from Grand View in my mailbox. It was my diploma! And an official copy of my transcript. For free. (Which no one mentioned, by the way, when they told us it would be six to eight weeks before we received our actual diplomas.)

In another small envelope was the student copy I had just paid for.

Curses.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunt Tine permalink
    30 June, 2008 11:59 am

    Just think…in a few years when you’re a big-time lawyer, you can laugh at having that extra three bucks sucked out of you!
    😉

    On a lighter note, can you believe you’re leaving for CA next week?? I’m so jealous!

  2. 30 June, 2008 3:37 pm

    Hey! I haven’t been here in a few days – like your new layout. And I see you are out about what school and whatnot. Maybe that was posted somewhere before and I just didn’t realize it though. I have been debating about using the same blog or starting a new one for school, and this weekend, I think I finally dumped the idea of a new one and decided to just do some redesigning and keep my same site.

  3. 30 June, 2008 4:45 pm

    Aunt Tine: Maybe I won’t cringe about the three bucks after I pay off my student loans… LOL And no, I can’t believe it! I’m so excited!!

    Laura: Thanks! I just changed it today, so you didn’t miss anything much. I do that every so often – it makes it feel kind of new again. I actually have posted before about where I’m going, but I haven’t mentioned it in awhile. Good luck with the redesign!

  4. 30 June, 2008 8:30 pm

    They don’t call it an education school for nothing, dear.

  5. 1 July, 2008 1:07 am

    Haha, I just got my diploma too! Congrats. Did you get a wallet-sized version too? My school sent me one. I think it’s silly 🙂

    Did Drake get damaged in the flooding?

  6. 1 July, 2008 8:23 am

    Hoss: Ah, good point!

    Jansen: Thanks! No, we didn’t get a wallet-sized version. That’s funny! Drake did not get damaged in the flooding. Luckily it’s on high ground without any rivers or creeks too nearby. I’m glad I am not a student at the University of Iowa, though. The law school is fine there, but a lot of undergrad buildings were damaged.

  7. firstday permalink
    1 July, 2008 4:07 pm

    Keep the other transcript–you will need a copy when applying for the bar! 🙂

  8. 1 July, 2008 4:26 pm

    firstday: Oh, good thinking!!!

  9. 2 July, 2008 2:14 pm

    You might want to scan your transcript too and save it as a PDF. I’ve been asked for an electronic copy before when applying for a job. 🙂

  10. 2 July, 2008 4:08 pm

    So smart! Thank you L.I.!!!

Leave a Reply

