Skip to content

a moment worth my hour commute

7 July, 2008

After running around for the first two days of our three day weekend, yesterday was nice and relaxing. We didn’t have any big plans because there were thunderstorms forecast for the whole day. Our lounging on the couch, watching movies, and reading were all punctuated by rumbling thunder and the occasional blink-out of power throughout much of the day.

Last night, I rediscovered one of my absolute favorite things about living out in the country. I stood on our front porch after the rain finished, enjoying the smell of freshly dampened earth. The only sounds I could hear were those of the birds perched high in our tree, the frogs that populate a nearby pond, and the sound of the wind whispering through the trees and high grasses. No cars, no sirens, not even people. And then I looked out over the field across the highway, and was mesmerized by a million little lights alternately glowing and growing dark. The fireflies were out in full force last night, and it was enchanting.

I wish it were a feeling I could capture with a camera, but that’s just not possible. I hope that someday, everyone has a chance to feel like they are in the middle of nowhere, just for a moment.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 7 July, 2008 12:47 pm

    Sounds like a really relaxing moment. You’re lucky to have a place you can be “away from it all.” I think that is why some people take vacations & love camping or hiking. I might actually add Iowa to my places to visit list–I love fireflies.

  2. 7 July, 2008 2:42 pm

    Even though i didn’t live in the country, growing up in Dubtown allowed me to frequently enjoy what you describe. And you describe it perfectly.

  3. 8 July, 2008 9:01 am

    optimist: It makes me kind of sad to think we’re going to be moving away from it, though. Within the next year, we’re moving to the city.

    nicki: Thanks!

Leave a Reply

