Skip to content

apartment hunting

8 July, 2008

I decided that this year I wasn’t going to just stay with my father-in-law. Yes, it’s more expensive. But people…I’m 26 years old. I don’t want to live with my parents. Or Ryan’s parents, which is pretty much the same thing. It’s not that he tried to impose rules or anything, but I just guess I felt obligated to report my whereabouts constantly so that he’d know to lock the door or not to worry. And I felt guilty for not paying rent even though I stayed there 4 nights out of the week. If I’m going to pay rent, I might as well do it elsewhere.

Because we haven’t sold our house, nor have we really done much about it, I’ve been on the prowl. I’ve been searching high and low for some low-rent housing. Craig’s list and me, we’re the best of friends. I’m hoping I struck gold. There is a room in an apartment with two other girls – for less than $250 a month total. That’s a little over half of what I spend in gas commuting…so I’m hoping that it will work out. I will stay Monday through Thursday, driving home for the weekend – basically what I did last year while my internship was going on. This is going to save me time and money, and it’s even better because their lease is only through December anyway. I’m not even tied in to a full year, so it’s absolutely perfect.

I’m going tonight to take a look at the place and meet my potential roomies. Cross your fingers for me!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunt Tine permalink
    8 July, 2008 10:10 am

    Wow…best of luck! I don’t know how you do it. More reasons I look up to you!
    😉

  2. 8 July, 2008 2:07 pm

    Well, it won’t be fun. It won’t be easy. I know this already from experience. But at least it’s one thing: temporary.

  3. 8 July, 2008 7:52 pm

    I would do the same! Right now I’m living with my dad for just the summer, but unlike your father-in-law my dad tries to enforce some rules so I’m ready to get out of this place. Good luck with the apartment and potential room mates.

  4. 9 July, 2008 8:19 am

    TK: Thank you!

Leave a Reply

