Skip to content

California say that you miss me.*

19 July, 2008

This is the final, less photographic installment of my trip to California. The first three editions are here, here, and here.

Sunday, 7/13

  • We woke up way too early in my book, but I think that has more to do with the fact that we’d been running for three days straight and it caught up to me.
  • I got showered, packed, and we were ready to go. We found a Wells Fargo ATM that sold regular stamps, slapped them on the postcards, mailed them, and then stopped for gas. There was a detour to get to the 405, but luckily it was simple and quick.
  • I nearly missed the entrance to the car rental place…twice. We drove on the wrong side of the road for about 20 feet to get into it the second time. Yeesh…
  • The shuttle to the airport left fairly quickly, and we made our way back to the madness that is LAX.

  • Checking in went fairly swiftly, but apparently the people who work in the security area just Don’t Give A Damn. They were slower than snails checking our boarding passes and ID’s, but once we got through there it was easy to find our gate. We hurried and grabbed some McDonald’s because we hadn’t had time to eat. They were slow, too.
  • Our flight went pretty well with the exception of the guy next to Shakira. He was a throat-clearer. Every 3 seconds or so, he’d clear his throat. Until I was able to turn my headphones back on, I thought I would lose my ever-loving mind.
  • I had to go and get my luggage once we landed in Chicago so that I could get checked back in and go through security. The tickets were purchased with miles and such, so there was no other way. I thought I only had an hour, and it turns out that my flight was delayed…multiple times. Sadly, Shakira left with Gram before we knew this.
  • I ate at the crappy airport Chili’s Cafe and read my book. Finally, over three hours late, my flight boarded. Then we sat there and waited for another cart because apparently it’s unsafe to travel without enough carts in the galley.
  • Luckily, the staff was really nice and it’s only a short 50 minutes from Chicago to Des Moines.
  • I got off the plane after 11:30, got my luggage, waited for the shuttle, and then drove home. I didn’t get there until after 1:30 in the morning. Luckily, it only felt like 11:30 since I’d been staying up at least that late in L.A.!
  • It was a good night to come home – it was clear and cool. I could see a million stars, which is impossible in L.A. It made me happy to be home, even if home isn’t near the ocean.
  • It was pure heaven to be back home with Ryan, and to sleep in my own bed. But I want to go back! Seriously, if you’ve never been to California…you should go. I am so lucky that my first trip was so much fun. It’s so amazing, and I hope that I have a chance to return.

*lyrics from California by The Kooks.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

