Skip to content

I hate needles

22 July, 2008

So obtaining my immunization records for law school has been a complete and utter fiasco. The doctor’s office in my hometown apparently didn’t get all of my records when we transferred in back in 1993. The doctor I went to before that only keeps patient records going back 10 years. I found the first 6 months worth of immunizations in my baby book, but that wasn’t entirely helpful. Finally, I called my high school and they still had records. Hallelujah.

Except they don’t show two Measles, Mumps, and Rubella vaccines. Only one. And two are required.

It’s not as though I haven’t gone through public school, community college, college, and nearly 27 years of life without getting measles, mumps, or rubella… The worst part is that I probably HAVE had two MMR shots, but the shoddy recordkeeping of my doctors has put me in this position.

Now I need a tetanus shot AND an MMR shot.

*sigh*

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunt Tine permalink
    22 July, 2008 5:57 pm

    I feel you, sister. Imagine having to go through IVF and get injections every night! UGH…sorry to hear of your troubles. You never know…back then you might have only been required to get one. After all, it WAS almost 27 years ago. *wink*

  2. newlawmom permalink
    22 July, 2008 8:17 pm

    I am so there. I just had my physical today. I skipped the MMR and went for the blood draw. I know I’m immune, just need to prove it. The tetanus was enough for me. And I’ve got that silly TB test on my arm. They held my paperwork hostage until I go get the arm checked in two days.

  3. 22 July, 2008 10:29 pm

    Wuss.

  4. 23 July, 2008 8:03 am

    Aunt Tine: Ha! Thanks for making me feel old. 🙂 The immunization requirements state if you were born after 1956, you have to have 2 MMR shots. 🙂

    Newlawmom: Fun, fun, fun. I don’t have any of the “warnings” for TB, so hopefully I won’t have to worry about that.

    Nicky: I know. I know.

  5. Aunt Tine permalink
    23 July, 2008 9:55 am

    I should have known that you would know the LAW about immunizations! Just try to get into Drake without it while singing “Breakin’ the law, breakin’ the law!”
    😉

  6. Llama Momma permalink
    23 July, 2008 10:24 am

    Jaelynn just got her MMR shot…..she was not a happy camper. Do you want me to come and hold you after the shots are done?? I’m getting good at that!

  7. 23 July, 2008 2:13 pm

    Aunt Tine: Heh.

    Llama Momma: Aw, poor thing. And yes, please. 🙂

  8. 24 July, 2008 10:22 am

    We had the exact experience! Only my doctor retired and destroyed his papers and the baby book didn’t cut it. I now have my immunization papers next to my birth certificate and passport!

  9. 24 July, 2008 10:53 am

    Kim, how did you deal with it?! Did you have to get a bunch of shots?

  10. 6 August, 2008 9:43 am

    I just got the shots again. I wanted to register for classes. Now I wish I wouldn’t have procrastinated so I could’ve had the blood test.

Leave a Reply

