Skip to content

who knew?

13 August, 2008

Being unemployed has given me occasion to reflect on…well, being unemployed. It’s not nearly as fun as it sounds. Really. I mean, I’m as big of a fan as anyone of some days of laziness. I’m certainly fond of a Gilmore Girls marathon that lasts twelve hours. But even though I have plenty to do to get ready for law school, it’s kind of boring.

I am just so used to working. I’ve had at least a part-time job since I was in sixth grade. My parents owned a skating rink and I worked there every weekend sixth through ninth grades. Then I started working outside of the family shortly thereafter when I got a job at a local grocery store.

The one exception to a consistent schedule of work was the three months I studied abroad. Although that was strange to get used to, seeing sights and traveling around was enough to keep me busy. After all, Samuel Johnson said, “…when a (wo)man is tired of london, (s)he is tired of life.” Of course he didn’t say that about women, but it definitely applied to me. London aside, I’ve worked full time or nearly full time ever since I came back from that trip.

So once I settle into life at law school, I’m wondering if I’m not going to just need to get a job. Then again, there will be schoolwork, extracurriculars, and hopefully some volunteering. I don’t doubt that I’ll be plenty busy, but it will still feel strange to not be working (for pay anyway). Who knew I’d miss it?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. 13 August, 2008 8:16 pm

    Where did you get your blog layout from? I’d like to get one like it for my blog.

  2. 13 August, 2008 11:04 pm

    The skating rink….

    aaah the days of yore.

  3. 14 August, 2008 1:37 am

    I think you’ll be way too busy to think and won’t have time to “work” for a living, yah know?

    I feel yah, though. I’ve never NOT worked in my entire adult life with the exception of my pregnancy leaves which (even though it was nice to recover and spend time with my newborn children) was BRUTAL(ly boring.) the looooooongest six weeks of my life. ha.

  4. 14 August, 2008 9:26 am

    Randy: It’s just one of the wordpress themes with a custom header. The header is a photo from my recent trip to California.

    Nicky: Right?! 🙂

    Norma: I think you may be right, but it will still seem weird to me. I guess that means that instead of throwing myself into school 100% I will probably throw myself into it 200%. Which will hopefully produce amazing results!

  5. 14 August, 2008 10:17 am

    I’ve worked since I was 15. Tomorrow is my last day at work and I have all next week to prepare, get some stuff packed and moved and most of all RELAX. I think it will almost be hard though. Like I’m afraid I’ll sleep in too much and get bored.

    I’m not sure if I will want to work during school. I think first semester with 17 intense credit and being between two cities I’ll have plenty on my plate without a job, but I’m sure I’ll be itching for some sort of income come January.

  6. 14 August, 2008 10:24 am

    Laura, trust me it’s easy to sleep in too much. I’m definitely guilty of that myself. Our situation (lots of credits/living in two places) is very similar – good luck!!!

  7. A.T. permalink
    14 August, 2008 3:41 pm

    I’m with you on this one. I’ve been out of work for 5 months, and though I’m trying to enjoy the time with Shaelin and I’m trying to stay comfortable throughout the pregnancy, I would be MUCH happier if I was working too. Some of us are just born that way, I guess. *Note: My checkbook would be MUCH happier if I was working too!!!!!*

  8. Laughing permalink
    14 August, 2008 9:28 pm

    I’m the same way. Unpacking took me about 3 days and ever since then I’ve just been milling about the apartment in not-quite-there-yet limbo. Ugh.

  9. 15 August, 2008 10:08 pm

    Aunt Tine: Yep, we must have some sort of gene… 🙂

    Laughing: Not so fun, right?

Trackbacks

  1. a bit of a dilemma « terra nullius

Leave a Reply

