Skip to content

sticker shock

18 August, 2008

I was poking around Drake’s website last night, when I noticed (much to my chagrin) that there was a reading assignment FOR THE FIRST DAY OF ORIENTATION. Holy buckets, these people mean business.

I needed to drop food off at the apartment anyway, so I decided to make the trek to Des Moines to buy my books. While I doubt most students even realize this assignment exists, I guess this is where I will start making an effort to stay a step ahead of the competition.

Anyway, after I dropped stuff off I made my way toward the school. I walked downstairs to the bookstore and told the woman who offered help that I needed books for my section. She had me set down my backpack and started pulling books off shelves and stacking them in my arms. Soon I could hardly hold all of the books, and she finally took me to the register to see what kind of damage the books were about to do to my checking account.

$908. And to add insult to injury, I had to carry them up two flights of stairs and out to my car. *sigh*

13 Comments leave one →
  1. 18 August, 2008 7:56 pm

    $908???? Oh my god! I have three books left to get and so far I’ve only spent $357. Was it too close to the start of classes to get them online used or something? And are you taking more than 5 classes this semester? Because that’s a lot of books. Once again, oh my god.

  2. 18 August, 2008 8:50 pm

    Oh, man, I have some of those books!! (I got mine at different times and haven’t dared stack them up yet, though.)

    (and hi – I’m about to start 1L, too.)

  3. newlawmom permalink
    18 August, 2008 9:36 pm

    Hey, I have some of those! Grand total? $1050

  4. 19 August, 2008 12:46 am

    Holy guacamole, girl. Do you need a muscle relaxing bath after that whole ordeal? My GOD!!!!!

  5. 19 August, 2008 7:43 am

    Just a tip for next term… try to buy your books online at Amazon, half.com, Barnes&Noble, etc. They tend to be A LOT cheaper than buying them directly from the law school bookstore. For example, for one text book, I spent $85 new instead of $146, and that included free shipping. For each book you buy and you save money, it adds up quickly!

  6. Llama Momma permalink
    19 August, 2008 9:36 am

    *gasp*

    Hopefully the student loans and scholarships will help out….ouch….

  7. 19 August, 2008 10:29 am

    I hope you got the right books 😉 Another friend of mine is also starting law school this year and she was the only one that notified the bookstore that they were selling the wrong book for one of the classes. And yes, she also had a reading assignment for orientation.

  8. Laughing permalink
    19 August, 2008 11:05 am

    Zoinks! Next semester you should try ordering online, I saved over $200 by doing it that way instead of going to the bookstore.

  9. 19 August, 2008 11:37 am

    But they’re “for keeps,” right? Like, you’ll refer to them after you’re JD’d?

    I used to spend $500/semester for pre-vet as an undergrad. It sucked. I didn’t need any of those books “for keeps”.

  10. A.T. permalink
    19 August, 2008 4:03 pm

    Look at you…preparing for your first day. *Beams with pride!* That’s my girl! You go all Legally Brunette on their asses and show ’em what you know! And just think…in a few years $908 will seem like pocket change to a big-time lawyer like yourself.

  11. 19 August, 2008 6:07 pm

    TK: Wow, I wish I went to your school. The one good thing is that two of the books overlap through next semester, and I’m pretty sure if I took further Criminal Law the book would overlap for that too.

    NKotH: Good luck! 🙂

    Newlawmom: Ouch!

    Norma: How about a muscle relaxer and then a bath! LOL

    Lawingenue: Thanks for the tip. 🙂 I wasn’t able to shop around this semester because I need the books NOW. If I didn’t have to wait for shipping, I definitely would have shopped around. I have a Barnes and Noble membership, too.

    Llama: Most of my vacation check that I was so looking forward to paid for them. *sniff*

    Colsy: As far as I can tell so far, I do have the right books. Yikes…

    Laughing: I definitely will – at least I’ll have more time!!!

    Poppy: I might, but you don’t use casebooks much in your practice as a lawyer. They are compiled by editors who pare the cases down to their liking, and as an attorney you’re probably better off looking up full-out cases.

    Aunt Tine: *grin* No ‘Elle’s first day’ moments for me!!!

Trackbacks

  1. the waiting game « Exhibit L
  2. Blawgs I Read: Exhibit L « 0L to 3L: My Journey to & through Law School

Leave a Reply

